State Government

The Kansas state government is modeled on the federal system, with three branches of government—executive, legislative, and judicial: the executive branch manages the day-to-day administrative duties running government; the legislative branch creates the laws that govern the citizens of Kansas; the judicial branch interprets and applies the laws passed by the state legislature.

Executive Branch
Meet Governor Brownback, learn his road map for Kansas, or contact him with your comments and concerns.

Judicial Branch
This branch includes municipal or city courts, appeals courts, and the state Supreme Court.

Legislative Branch
Follow legislative activity, monitor bills and statutes in current and past sessions, and contact your legislators.

Elected Officials
Find information on the elected officials of Kansas:, including the Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, Insurance Commissioner, and more.

Citizen Services

Agencies & Associations
An alphabetical listing of all state agencies, boards, commissions and associations currently online.

Elections & Voting
Visit the Secretary of State’s Web site to view information about current elections, voting and more.

Find information and downloadable forms on government health benefits, retirement, parking, recruitment, travel and more. Register your job skills, search the online job listings, apply for open positions and learn about state employee benefits.

Funding & Aid
Find information on available funding & aid resources in Kansas.

Historic Places & Buildings
Everything about the history of Kansas from timelines and trails, take a day trip, and learn about genealogy.

State Employees
Information on benefits, jobs, training, parking, even retirement. Find state employee phone numbers. Look for employment openings and job titles.

Technology & Economic Development
Learn more about state information technology initiatives, economic planning and associated committees.

Discover and understand how tax dollars are spent in Kansas.

Local Government

Kansas has 625 cities. Find out about them all.

Find information on each of the 105 counties in Kansas.

Federal Government

Kansas Congressional Delegation
The Kansas Congressional Delegation consists of Kansas’ two senators and four house representatives. Connect to them and their web sites from the links on the next page.

Federal Government Resources
Find links to and



Meet Governor Brownback, learn his road map for the state. Send him email with your comments and concerns.

Related Agencies

Kansas State Capitol Bldg.
300 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612

Kansas Attorney General
120 SW 10th Ave
2nd Floor
Topeka, Kansas 66612

Helpful Links

Commemorating Kansas

Chat with us live

Terms of Use | Security | Privacy Policy | Accessibility | Contact Us | Survey | Awards | Translate | Site Map
Copyright © 2014 State of Kansas - All rights reserved.