Session of 1999


      A Concurrent Resolution urging all public and private elementary and secondary
      schools to create and update school crisis plans and to facilitate implementation of such
      plans by training personnel and conducting regular drills.

      WHEREAS,  The safety of the children of this State, particularly at
school, is of paramount concern to this State; and

      WHEREAS,  During the 1997-98 school year, other States, including
Mississippi, Kentucky, Oregon, Arkansas and Pennsylvania, experienced
tragic occurrences involving weapons brought on to school property and
used against students and faculty; and

      WHEREAS,  Violence and violent behavior crosses all social and eco-
nomic boundaries, and occurs in both urban and rural settings, making
every school susceptible; and

      WHEREAS,  It has become clear that well-developed crisis plans are
an important tool in reducing the risk of injury and loss of life, thus aiding
in the protection of children and school personnel from such occurrences
while on school property: Now, therefore,

      Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas,
the Senate concurring therein: That the Legislature of the State of Kan-
sas strongly urges every public and private elementary and secondary
school to create a school crisis plan tailored to that school, addressing the
procedure to be followed in the event of a crisis involving weapons
brought onto school property by intruders, students, faculty or staff of
the school, or any threat of such occurrence, and that such crisis plan be
updated regularly, staff and faculty be trained on implementation of the
plan and regular drills be conducted to practice the plan.

      Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to de-
liver enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education
and the chairperson of the State Board of Education.

I hereby certify that the above CONCURRENT RESOLUTION originated in
the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body


Speaker of the House
Chief Clerk of the House
Adopted by the SENATE ______________________________

President of the Senate
Secretary of the Senate