Session of 1999
Substitute for
Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1608
By Committee on Transportation and Tourism

10             A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION urging the United States Congress
11             to repeal Section 656(b) of P.L. 104-208.
13             WHEREAS, The Federal Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigra-
14       tion Responsibility Act in Section 656(b) requires that state issued drivers'
15       licenses and nondriver identification cards must contain the holder's so-
16       cial security number or that the state must verify with the Social Security
17       Administration the social security number of each applicant for a license
18       or identification card; and
19             WHEREAS, This requirements violates the rights protected by the
20       Tenth Amendment of the Constitution of the United States and violates
21       Section 7 of the Privacy Act of 1974 (P.L. 93-579); and
22             WHEREAS, This requirement of the Federal Illegal Immigration Re-
23       form and Immigration Responsibility Act raises serious concerns regard-
24       ing establishment of a system of national identification numbers and na-
25       tional identification cards; and
26             WHEREAS, Many states specifically prohibit the use of social security
27       numbers on drivers' licenses; and
28             WHEREAS, Section 656(b) represents an unfunded mandate by the
29       Federal government: Now, therefore,
30             Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas, the House of Rep-
31       resentatives concurring therein:   That the United States Congress is
32       urged to repeal Section 656(b) of P.L. 104-208; and
33             Be it further resolved:   That the Secretary of State be directed to send
34       enrolled copies of this resolution to the Attorney General of the State of
35       Kansas, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate,
36       the Speaker and Minority Leader of the United States House of Repre-
37       sentatives and to each member of the Kansas Congressional Delegation.