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Brief*

SB 547 would enact new law, the Pharmacy Benefits Manager

Registration Act, an act that would apply to any pharmacy benefits

manager that provides claims processing services, other prescription

drug or device services, or both, to covered persons who are residents

of Kansas.  The Act would not apply to any pharmacy benefits

manager that holds a certificate of registration as an administrator

pursuant to KSA 40-3810.  That certificate also is issued by the

Insurance Commissioner.

Registration requirements of the act include:

! No person is permitted to act or operate as a pharmacy benefits

manager (PBM) without first obtaining a valid certificate of

registration issued by the Insurance Commissioner.  A pharmacy

benefits manager would not include a covered insurance entity;

! Each person seeking a certificate is to file with the Commissioner

an application upon a form furnished by the Commissioner.  The

form is to include the name, address, official position and

professional qualifications of each individual who is responsible

for the conduct of affairs of the pharmacy benefits manager,

such as all members of the board of directors or other governing

board or committee; the name and address of the applicant’s

agent for service of process in the state; and a nonrefundable

application fee of $140;

! Each benefits manager’s registration is to expire on March 31

each year and may be annually renewed on request of the

registrant.  The renewal is to be submitted on a form furnished

by the Commissioner with a $140 renewal fee;

———————————
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! If the renewal fee is not paid by the prescribed date, the amount

of the fee, plus a penalty fee of $140 is to be paid.  The

registration may be revoked or suspended by the Commissioner

until the renewal fee and any penalty has been paid; and

! Any person performing pharmacy benefits management service

on the effective date of the act must obtain a certificate of

registration from the Commissioner within 90 days after the

effective date of the act, publication in the Kansas Register, in

order to continue to do business in Kansas.

The bill also would define “pharmacy benefits management” as

any of the following services provided through the administration of

pharmacy benefits including: mail service pharmacy; claims

processing, retail network management and payment of claims to

pharmacies for prescription drugs dispensed to covered individuals;

clinical formulary development and management services; rebate

contracting and administration; certain patient compliance, therapeutic

intervention and generic substitution programs; or disease

management programs involving prescription drug utilization; and the

procurement of prescription drugs by a prescription benefits manager

at a negotiated rate for dispensation to covered individuals within this

state; or the administration or management of prescription drug

benefits provided by a covered insurance entity for the benefit of

covered individuals.

The bill also would provide that the Commissioner may adopt,

amend and revoke rules and regulations governing the administration

and enforcement of this act, in accordance with the Rules and

Regulations Filing Act, including but not limited to the content of the

application form; the content of any other form or report to implement

this act; and such other rules and regulations as the Commissioner

may deem necessary to carry out the provisions of this act.

Any person in violation of this act would be subject to a fine of

$500 for each violation.

The Insurance Commissioner is to remit all moneys received by

or for the Commissioner under this act to the State Treasurer at least

monthly.  The amount is then to be deposited in the treasury and be

credited to a new fund, the Pharmacy Benefits Manager Registration

Fund, created by the bill.

Finally, the bill would provide that if any provision of this act or
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application of the act to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the

invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of the act

which can be given effect without the invalid provision or application,

and to this end, the provisions of the act are severable.  The act would

become effective upon publication in the Kansas Register.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the House amendments

to the bill and agreed to further amend the bill to clarify the definition

for “pharmacy benefits manager.”  The amendment removes any mail

service pharmacy from the definition.  A “pharmacy benefits manager”

is defined as a person, business, or entity that performs pharmacy

benefits management.  The mail service pharmacy is a component of

the definition in the bill for “pharmacy benefits management.”

Background

SB 547 was introduced by the Senate Financial Institutions and

Insurance Committee at the request of the Kansas Pharmacists

Association whose representative indicated that the bill would serve as

an addition to the Kansas Insurance Department’s options for

identifying out-of-state companies that are serving prescription drug

beneficiaries throughout the State of Kansas.  The bill was opposed by

Express Scripts whose representative indicated concern about the

necessity of the need for additional regulation or registration of PBMs

by the state and the application of the Unfair Trade Practices Act to a

pharmacy benefit manager and its activities.

The Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance

amended the bill to remove the requirement that pharmacy benefit

manager registrants be subject to provisions of the Unfair Trade

Practices Act.

The Senate Committee of the W hole amendment changed the

application fee, renewal fee, and renewal penalty fee amounts from

$500 to $140.  The $500 penalty fee for violations of the act was not

amended.

The House Committee of the W hole amended the application of

the act of pharmacy benefits managers to provide that the Act would

not apply to any pharmacy benefits manager that holds a certificate of

registration as an administrator pursuant to KSA 40-3810 (third party



4-547

administrator).  The House Committee of the W hole also clarified the

definition and services provided under “pharmacy benefits

management.”  The bill also was amended to explicitly state that the

term “pharmacy benefits manager” would not include a covered

insurance entity.  Finally, the Committee of the W hole removed a

provision from the bill that required the Insurance Commissioner not

issue a certificate of registration if certain factors are determined and

a requirement that the pharmacy benefits manager notify the

Commissioner in writing within 30 calendar days of any material

change in its ownership.

The fiscal note prepared by the Division of the Budget on the

introduced version of the bill indicates that passage of the bill would

have a minor impact on the Department of Insurance’s budget and

could be implemented within the agency’s current staffing and

operating expenditure levels.  The Department’s Accident and Health

Division would process any submitted applications for a Pharmacy

Benefit Certificate of Registration, process the required fees, and issue

Certificates of Registration.

Pharm acy Benefits Manager Registration Act
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