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Adult Registration: 

Sex Offenses Requiring Registration: 

15 year duration of registration 
 

Adultery (one party <18) 
Lewd and Lascivious Behavior (one party <18) 
Patronizing a Prostitute (one party <18) 
Sexual Battery 
Sexually Motivated Crimes 
 

25 year duration of Registration 
 

Criminal Sodomy or (one party 16> but <18) 
Electronic Solicitation 
Aggravated Incest 
Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations 
14> but <18) 
Aggravated Sexual Battery 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim 14> but <18) 
Unlawful Sexual Relations 
 

Lifetime duration of registration 
 

Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14> but<16) 
Aggravated Criminal Sodomy 
Aggravated Human Trafficking (if committed in whole 
or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of 
the offender or another) 
Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations 
<14) 
Rape 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim <14) 
Sexually Violent Predator 

 

Violent Offenses Requiring Registration 

15 year duration of registration 
 

Capital Murder 
Criminal Restraint (except by a parent and only when 
victim <18) 
Deadly Weapon (Court finding on the record) 
Involuntary Manslaughter (except DUI) 
Murder in the First Degree 
Murder in the Second Degree 
Voluntary Manslaughter 
 

Lifetime duration of registration 
 

Aggravated Human Trafficking (if not committed in 
whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual 
gratification of the offender or another) 
Kidnapping 
Aggravated Kidnapping 

 
 

Kansas  

Offender            

Registration 
Act 

The Kansas Offender Registration Act is intended 

to provide the public with information regarding 
convicted offenders who could pose a threat to 

the safety of our families. 
 
 

 
KBI Offender Registration Website 

www.kbi.ks.gov/registeredoffender/ 
 

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public 
Website 

www.nsopw.gov 
 

KBI Offender Registration Unit Contact Info 
E-mail: registeredoffender@kbi.state.ks.us 

Telephone: (785) 296-2841 
 

 

Drug Offenses Requiring Registration: 

15 year duration of registration 
 

Possession of Precursor with Intent to Manufacture 
Controlled Substance 
Unlawful Manufacture of Controlled Substance 
Unlawful Sale or Distribution of a Controlled Substance 
 

Other Circumstances Requiring 

Registration: 

 
Any Attempt, Conspiracy or Solicitation of an offense 
that requires registration 
 
Crimes not otherwise requiring registration, but ordered 
by the court 
 
Second Conviction of a Registerable Offense requires 
lifetime registration 
 

Juvenile Registration:  

Sex Offenses Requiring Registration: 

 
Aggravated Criminal Sodomy 
Aggravated Human Trafficking 
Aggravated Incest 
Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child 
Aggravated Sexual Battery 
Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14-15 YOA) 
Electronic Solicitation 
Indecent Liberties with a Child 
Indecent Solicitation of a Child 

Rape 
Sexual Exploitation of a Child 
Sexually Motivated Crimes 
Unlawful Sexual Relations 
 

Juvenile Duration of Registration: 

 
Juveniles are required to register until 18 YOA or 5 
years from date of adjudication or date of release from 
incarceration, whichever date occurs later, if adjudicated 
of a sexually violent crime. 
 
Juveniles 14 or more YOA are required to register for life 
if adjudicated of Rape (person does not consent or 
victim <14 yoa), Aggravated Criminal Sodomy and 
Aggravated Human Trafficking (if committed in whole or 
in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the 
offender or another), or Electronic Solicitation. 
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Duties of a Registered Offender 
 
Register with the registering law enforcement 

agency within three days of entering into any 
county to reside, maintain employment, or 
attend school. 

 
Register four times a year in person at the 
registering law enforcement agency in any 
county where they reside, maintain employment, 
or attend school. After initial registration, they 
report in the month of their birthday and every 
third, sixth, and ninth month thereafter.  They 

must be photographed, pay a registration fee of 
$20, and complete the registration form with all 

information. 
 
They must register in person at the registering 
law enforcement agency within three days if 

beginning, changing or ending a residence, 
employment, or school.  They must also provide 
written notice to the Kansas Bureau of 
Investigation. 
 
If they are transient, they are required to 
register in person with the registering law 

enforcement agency every 30 days, or more 
often at the discretion of the registering law 

enforcement agency.  They are to provide a list 
of places where they have slept and frequented 
during the period of time since they last 
registered.  They are also to provide a list of 
places where they may be contacted and where 

they intend to sleep and frequent during the 
period of time prior to the next required 
registration date. 
 
If convicted or adjudicated and required to 
register in another state, they are required to 

register for as long as that state would require 

or for the period of time required in the State of 
Kansas, whichever is longer.  
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
If receiving inpatient treatment at any treatment 
facility, inform the treatment facility of their status 

as an offender and inform the registering law 
enforcement agency of the county in which the 
treatment facility is located of their presence at 
the treatment facility and the expected duration of 
the treatment. 
 
They are required to immediately renew any 

Kansas driver’s license or state identification card, 
and they must annually renew such license or 
identification card. The driver’s license and 
identification card shall indicate that they are a 
registered offender. If maintaining primary 

residence in Kansas, they must surrender all other 

driver's licenses and identification cards from other 
states, territories, and the District of Columbia. 
 
They are required to report to the registering law 
enforcement agency any and all: email addresses; 
online identities; information relating to 
membership in any and all personal web pages or 

online social networks; and internet screen names. 
 

If they travel outside of the United States, they 
shall report in person to the registering law 

enforcement agency and provide written notice to 
the Kansas Bureau of Investigation 21 days prior 

to any such travel. 
 
An expungement for the crime that requires 
registration does not terminate the registration 
obligation. 
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FAQ’s 
 

Are there any laws that mandate how close an 

offender can live to a school, daycare or 
community center? 

A. Kansas does not have any laws that 
mandate where an offender can or 

cannot live, work, or go to school.  
However this may be a condition of 
their supervision.  The KBI does not 
monitor these restrictions. 
 

Are there any laws that mandate with whom an 

offender can or cannot associate? 
A. Kansas does not have any laws that 

mandate who an offender can be 
around.  However this may be a 
condition of an offender’s 
supervision.  The KBI does not 

monitor these restrictions. 
 

What causes the duration of registration to be 
extended?  

A. Duration of registration does not 
apply while the offender is 
incarcerated or any time period 

when the offender fails to comply 
with the registration requirement. 

 
Who do I contact if I suspect a sex offender has 
an account on a social networking site? 

A. You can report that information to 
the KBI through the KBI’s public 

website and we will forward it to the 
law enforcement agency having 
jurisdiction over the offender for 
further investigation or you can 
report it directly to the social 
networking site. 

 

Who can I contact if I have information, 
questions or concerns regarding a registered 
offender? 

A. You may contact the Sheriff’s Office 
where the offender registers or the 
KBI Offender Registration Unit by 

telephone at (785) 296-2841 or by 
e-mail at 
registeredoffender@kbi.state.ks.us. 

 

 


