Abstract: The “rap sheet” document summary of arrest and disposition data maintained in the records of the Central Repository.
Adult Correctional Facility: Any public or private facility, secure or non-secure, which is used for the lawful custody of accused or convicted adult criminal offenders.
Arrest Segment: The arrests element of a criminal history record accounts for the entry of the individual into the criminal justice system. An arrest is NOT a conviction.
Central Repository: The KBI is mandated by statute to be the single location in the state that maintains criminal history records for all offenders within the state of Kansas.
Computerized Criminal History (CCH): The database of adult and juvenile criminal history records maintained at the KBI Central Repository that consists of arrest and disposition elements. The disposition element of the offense consists of the prosecution, court, and confinement elements.
Confinement: This portion of the disposition consists of information regarding the subject’s incarceration(s). This segment will not be included in the criminal history record unless the subject was sentenced to confinement or was paroled and later incarcerated for a parole violation.
Conviction: Dispositions in adult court including all pleas of guilty or Nolo Contendere, and all findings of guilt by a court or jury.
Counts: The number of incidents/instances of an offense.
Court Segments: This portion of the disposition of an adult criminal history record regarding the final outcome of the court case.
Crime Class Code: This code identified whether the offense is classified as a felony (F), misdemeanor (M), infraction (I), or is unclassified (U).
Criminal History Record Information (CHRI): Defined by K.S.A. 22-4701. CHRI is the record that includes individual identifiers and describes an individual’s arrests and dispositions. The information consists of felony and misdemeanor events that occurred only in Kansas. It does not include any arrests or dispositions that occurred in another state or under federal law.
Disposition: The disposition of an offense consists of the prosecution, court, and confinement segments.
Diversion: An agreement entered into by the subject and the prosecuting attorney whereby a criminal offense is not referred to court. The subject performs specified actions (such as payment of restitution, fine, community service, counseling, etc) to satisfy the prosecutor’s decision not to prosecute.
Expungement: The court-ordered removal of a conviction from an individual’s criminal history record. Under most circumstances, that conviction is not releasable and is unavailable to persons otherwise entitled to access central repository records. However, the conviction is still maintained within the CCH, and is released to certain agencies entitled to receive such data by state statute.
Felony Severity Code: This code portrays the severity level of felonies as established by the Legislature for sentence guideline requirements. There are ten levels, with 1 being the most severe and 10 the least severe.
Handled as an Adult: This refers to the processing of a juvenile 14-17 years of age through adult court for traffic offenses as per K.S.A. 38-2302(n)(1), or a juvenile 16-17 years of age for fish and game violations as per K.S.A. 38-2302(n)(2).
Jail: The adult lockup facility which is separated from juvenile offender housing and processing.
Journal Entry: The document used to record the disposition of a court case. The Journal Entry form is the basis for the court segment of the criminal history record.
Juvenile: A person 10 or more years of age but less than 18 years of age. By definition, a person younger than 10 is a child, not a juvenile.
Juvenile Offender: A person who does an act while a juvenile which if done by an adult would constitute the commission of a felony or misdemeanor offense.
Law Enforcement Agency: A federal, state, or local organization empowered to enforce the law and staffed with law enforcement officers.
Law Enforcement Officer: Any person who, by the virtue of that person’s office, is vested by the law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes.
Misdemeanor Class Code: This code defines the seriousness of a misdemeanor – A, B, C, or U (unknown). The class code is determined by the Legislature when the statute is written.
Moniker: A moniker is a nickname which is not a variation of the individual’s given name, but is usually descriptive of a characteristic or character trait. Examples: “Red,” ” Outlaw,” “Lefty,” “Speedy.”
Non-conviction: Dispositions through adult criminal court including all acquittals, dismissals, declinations, and completed diversions. Also, an adult arrest event that is at least one year old for which no disposition has been received at the Central Repository will be considered a non-conviction.
Person Code: An offense characterized as a “person” offense (for example, assault) is when a person is the victim of the crime. An offense that is characterized as a “non-person” offense (for example, passing worthless checks) is when a person is not the victim. The person/non-person characterization is determined by the legislature when the statute is written.
Prosecution Segment: This portion of the disposition consists of information regarding decisions made by the prosecuting attorney handling the offense. The prosecutor will either file charges with the court reflecting the offenses recorded by the arresting agency, file amended offenses, decline to prosecute, or place the subject on diversion.
Public Record: For criminal history records this means all adult convictions or adult arrests under 12 months old that have not yet had a disposition reported to the Central Repository.
Statute: The number system used to organize Kansas laws consist of different levels of detail and definition. A statute consists of several parts – Chapter, article, section, and subsections,
Example: K.S.A. 21-5807 (a)(1) represents burglary of a dwelling. 21 = chapter (Crimes and Punishments), 58 = article (Crimes Involving Property), 07 = section (Burglary; Aggravated Burglary), a = subsection 1 (Burglary), 1 = subsection 2 (Dwelling).
SID: State Identification Number, which is also known as the KBI Number. The SID is a unique number assigned to an individual when the Central Repository creates his/her criminal history record.
Waiver to Adult Status: This refers to processing a juvenile offender, 14-17 years of age, who has committed a felony under certain circumstance which either permit or require that the offense be processed through adult court as per K.S.A. 38-232(n) and K.S.A. 38-2347(a).