How This Site Works
Conduct a Record Check
Request Your Record »
Certified Record Checks
Fingerprint Record Checks
Sample Rap Sheet
Glossary of Terms
If you are a first-time requestor, please review all the information on this page before continuing.
The type of criminal history record you can obtain on yourself depends on why you want your record:
Hours of operation
You may conduct a record check at any time between the hours of 4:00 AM and Midnight, Central Time, every day. The Kansas Central Repository is unavailable from Midnight to 4:00 AM each day for scheduled maintenance.
Kansas Criminal History Records
Historical records of arrests and dispositions for criminal activity in Kansas are maintained in the Central Repository at the Kansas Bureau of Investigation. The Central Repository database receives summary information for these events from contributing police departments, sheriff's offices, prosecutors and courts throughout the state.
The criminal history information maintained by the KBI includes felony and misdemeanor arrests, prosecution data, court disposition and information of incarceration in state-operated confinement facilities. The Central Repository does not contain data from any other state or federal agency.
Kansas Central Repository criminal history records are organized by individual identity so that all the offenses committed by that person are kept in chronological order within a single file. The offenses are associated with the subject of the record based upon fingerprint identification.
When criminal history record information is released, it is printed in an abstract of record commonly referred to as a"rap sheet."
What criminal history record information is released:
When your identity has been verified by submission of fingerprints, the Central Repository will print and mail to you a"rap sheet" with all information contained in your criminal history record. This will include:
Getting your fingerprints taken
You may ask a local Police Department or Sheriff's Office to take your prints. Although local law enforcement agencies are not obliged to provide this service, generally at least one agency that offers this service can be found in all counties in Kansas. You may be charged a reasonable fee to offset the expense of providing the service.
In larger cities, commercial fingerprinting services may also be found.
In Topeka, the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) will take your fingerprints Monday through Friday from 8am to 4pm. There is a fee of $10 for this service. Simply come to the KBI headquarters at 1620 SW Tyler Street. No appointment necessary.
Obtaining the Personal Identification fingerprint card
The fingerprint card used for personal review of criminal history is the standard FBI Personal Identification fingerprint card, FBI form FD-353. If that card is not available, the standard FBI Applicant fingerprint card, FBI form FD 258 may be substituted.
Personal Identification or Applicant fingerprint cards should be obtained from the agency that offers fingerprinting services. If the agency does not have these cards available, they can be obtained from the KBI.
Number of cards to be submitted.
Only one fingerprint card is submitted to the Central Repository.
Fee for a personal record check
The fee for processing the record check and returning the rap sheet is $35.00.
The letter requesting the personal record check
The letter you prepare must properly identify you, establish the reason for your request and provide your mailing address to which the response can be sent. Include the Personal Identification fingerprint card and a check or money order for $35.00. A sample letter is provided for your use.
Mailing the request to the KBI
Do not crease or staple the fingerprint card. Place it in an envelope large enough to hold the card without bending or folding. Regular first-class mailing is sufficient; there is no need to certify or insure the request. The proper mailing address is:
If you review the rap sheet of your criminal history and believe that it is incorrect or incomplete, you may challenge the record by sending a letter to the KBI explaining what you believe the error to be. Please also include documents that provide the correct information. The mailing address for the KBI is found in the previous section, above.
For example, if your criminal history record shows an arrest without a disposition and you were given a diversion of prosecution by the County Attorney and the District Court, please send us a letter explaining the diversion, to include a copy of the Journal Entry filed by the County Attorney when the diversion was successfully completed. That Journal Entry will be used by the Central Repository to bring your record up-to-date.
Other types of record checks to consider