Adult Registration: Sex Offenses Requiring Registration: 15 year duration of registration

Adultery (one party <18)
Lewd and Lascivious Behavior (one party <18)
Patronizing a Prostitute (one party <18)
Sexual Battery
Sexually Motivated Crimes

Criminal Sodomy or (one party 16> but <18)

25 year duration of Registration

Electronic Solicitation
Aggravated Incest
Indecent Liberties with a Child
Indecent Solicitation of a Child
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations
14> but <18)
Aggravated Sexual Battery
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim 14> but <18)
Unlawful Sexual Relations

Lifetime duration of registration

Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14> but<16)
Aggravated Criminal Sodomy
Aggravated Human Trafficking (if committed in whole
or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of
the offender or another)
Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child
Promoting Prostitution (person selling sexual relations
<14)
Rape
Sexual Exploitation of a Child (victim <14)
Sexually Violent Predator

Violent Offenses Requiring Registration 15 year duration of registration

Capital Murder
Criminal Restraint (except by a parent and only when victim <18)
Deadly Weapon (Court finding on the record)
Involuntary Manslaughter (except DUI)
Murder in the First Degree
Murder in the Second Degree
Voluntary Manslaughter

Lifetime duration of registration

Aggravated Human Trafficking (if not committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the offender or another)
Kidnapping
Aggravated Kidnapping

Drug Offenses Requiring Registration: 15 year duration of registration

Possession of Precursor with Intent to Manufacture Controlled Substance Unlawful Manufacture of Controlled Substance Unlawful Sale or Distribution of a Controlled Substance

Other Circumstances Requiring Registration:

Any Attempt, Conspiracy or Solicitation of an offense that requires registration

Crimes not otherwise requiring registration, but ordered by the court

Second Conviction of a Registerable Offense requires lifetime registration

Juvenile Registration: Sex Offenses Requiring Registration:

Aggravated Criminal Sodomy
Aggravated Human Trafficking
Aggravated Incest
Aggravated Indecent Liberties with a Child
Aggravated Indecent Solicitation of a Child
Aggravated Sexual Battery
Commercial Sexual Exploitation of a Child
Criminal Sodomy (victim 14-15 YOA)
Electronic Solicitation
Indecent Liberties with a Child
Indecent Solicitation of a Child
Rape
Sexual Exploitation of a Child
Sexually Motivated Crimes
Unlawful Sexual Relations

Juvenile Duration of Registration:

Juveniles are required to register until 18 YOA or 5 years from date of adjudication or date of release from incarceration, whichever date occurs later, if adjudicated of a sexually violent crime.

Juveniles 14 or more YOA are required to register for life if adjudicated of Rape (person does not consent or victim <14 yoa), Aggravated Criminal Sodomy and Aggravated Human Trafficking (if committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the offender or another), or Electronic Solicitation.

Kansas Offender Registration Act



Kirk D. Thompson, Director Kansas Bureau of Investigation

The Kansas Offender Registration Act is intended to provide the public with information regarding convicted offenders who could pose a threat to the safety of our families.

KBI Offender Registration Website www.kbi.ks.gov/registeredoffender/

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website

www.nsopw.gov

KBI Offender Registration Unit Contact Info

E-mail: registeredoffender@kbi.state.ks.us Telephone: (785) 296-2841

Duties of a Registered Offender

Register with the registering law enforcement agency within three days of entering into any county to reside, maintain employment, or attend school.

Register four times a year in person at the registering law enforcement agency in any county where they reside, maintain employment, or attend school. After initial registration, they report in the month of their birthday and every third, sixth, and ninth month thereafter. They must be photographed, pay a registration fee of \$20, and complete the registration form with all information.

They must register in person at the registering law enforcement agency within three days if beginning, changing or ending a residence, employment, or school. They must also provide written notice to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

If they are transient, they are required to register in person with the registering law enforcement agency every 30 days, or more often at the discretion of the registering law enforcement agency. They are to provide a list of places where they have slept and frequented during the period of time since they last registered. They are also to provide a list of places where they may be contacted and where they intend to sleep and frequent during the period of time prior to the next required registration date.

If convicted or adjudicated and required to register in another state, they are required to register for as long as that state would require or for the period of time required in the State of Kansas, whichever is longer.

If receiving inpatient treatment at any treatment facility, inform the treatment facility of their status as an offender and inform the registering law enforcement agency of the county in which the treatment facility is located of their presence at the treatment facility and the expected duration of the treatment.

They are required to immediately renew any Kansas driver's license or state identification card, and they must annually renew such license or identification card. The driver's license and identification card shall indicate that they are a registered offender. If maintaining primary residence in Kansas, they must surrender all other driver's licenses and identification cards from other states, territories, and the District of Columbia.

They are required to report to the registering law enforcement agency any and all: email addresses; online identities; information relating to membership in any and all personal web pages or online social networks; and internet screen names.

If they travel outside of the United States, they shall report in person to the registering law enforcement agency and provide written notice to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation 21 days prior to any such travel.

An expungement for the crime that requires registration does not terminate the registration obligation.



FAQ's

Are there any laws that mandate how close an offender can live to a school, daycare or community center?

A. Kansas does not have any laws that mandate where an offender can or cannot live, work, or go to school. However this may be a condition of their supervision. The KBI does not monitor these restrictions.

Are there any laws that mandate with whom an offender can or cannot associate?

A. Kansas does not have any laws that mandate who an offender can be around. However this may be a condition of an offender's supervision. The KBI does not monitor these restrictions.

What causes the duration of registration to be extended?

A. Duration of registration does not apply while the offender is incarcerated or any time period when the offender fails to comply with the registration requirement.

Who do I contact if I suspect a sex offender has an account on a social networking site?

A. You can report that information to the KBI through the KBI's public website and we will forward it to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the offender for further investigation or you can report it directly to the social networking site.

o can I contact if I have information, estions or concerns regarding a registered ender?

A. You may contact the Sheriff's Office where the offender registers or the KBI Offender Registration Unit by telephone at (785) 296-2841 or by e-mail at registeredoffender@kbi.state.ks.us.

Updated September 2016