#### WHERE CAN THE PUBLIC GO TO FIND OUT WHERE AN OFFENDER LIVES?

- The Sheriff's Department in the County where the offender lives;
- On the internet
  (www.nsopr.gov)
  (www.kansas.gov/kbi);
- > At KBI Headquarters in Topeka.



This information is provided by Kansas Attorney General, Derek Schmidt and the KBI. *Updated 1/19/2011* 

## FLOW CHART FOR OFFENDER REGISTRATION

Offender is granted probation, released from prison/jail, or moves into Kansas.

Duty to register is explained.

Offender Registers.

Registration is sent to the KBI within three days.

KBI sends registration to the sheriff in the county where the offender will reside.

Offender must report to the sheriff within 10 days of moving into the county and verify receipt of registration by the sheriff.

Offender must notify the sheriff and the KBI within 10 days of an address change.

The offender must report to the sheriff in every county where the offender is required to register three times a year, once in the offender's birth month and in every 4<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> month after any birthday.

If the offender fails to appear during the required visits or fails to notify the KBI or the sheriff's department of an address change, the KBI and/or the sheriff's office refer the offender for prosecution for violations of the Offender Registration Act.

Violation of the act is a level 5 person felony.

# Kansas Offender Registration Act



Attorney General Derek Schmidt

Director Kirk D. Thompson Kansas Bureau of Investigation

The Kansas Offender Registration Act is intended to provide the public with information regarding convicted offenders who could pose a threat to the safety of our families; especially our children.

### THE KANSAS OFFENDER REGISTRATION ACT

The Kansas Sex Offender Registration Act was first enacted in 1993. In its initial form, the Act required a person twice convicted of a sexually violent crime to register with the sheriff of the Kansas county in which he or she lived.

In 1994, the Legislature expanded the act, giving the public access to registrant information at their local sheriff's office. With this information, Kansas citizens and local law enforcement can make better decisions regarding the safety of their families and their communities.

In 1996, the Kansas Supreme Court declared that the public access portion of the Act was unconstitutional for offenders who had committed their crimes before April 14, 1994. Due to this ruling, the public is now only allowed to access information concerning offenders who committed their crimes after that date. Notwithstanding this limitation on public access, all offenders are still required to register with their local sheriff's office.

Since its inception, the legislature has expanded the list of violations for which offenders must register to include convictions of murder, manslaughter, aggravated kidnapping, kidnapping, criminal restraint, and offenses where use of a deadly weapon was employed. As of 2007, the act now requires registration of offenders convicted of certain drug crimes.

The Act requires offenders to register at the time they are released from the Department of Corrections (parole) or when they are placed with Court Services or Community Corrections (probation). Once collected, the information is forwarded to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation which is the central repository for all offender registration. Offenders are also required to report to the sheriff in the county where they are reported to be living within 10 days of release to ensure that the registration information is on file.

Effective July 1, 2001 the Act was amended requiring non-resident persons working or attending school to register. Any Kansas resident required to register under any federal, military or other state's law must register in Kansas, even if such conviction was prior to Kansas' effective registration date for that offense. Any person declared a sexually violent predator shall register for the person's lifetime.

On June 1, 2006 Senate Bill 506 became law. This law applies to all offenders who are required to register pursuant to the Kansas Offender Registration Act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et.seq. Senate Bill 204, which became law July 1, 2007 further clarified Senate Bill 506 and added some additional requirements.

Effective July 1, 2006, registered offenders are required to annually renew a driver's license or state issued identification card on the offender's birthday. The driver's license and identification card shall indicate the person is a registered offender. A current driver's license held by the offender on the effective date of the bill shall remain valid until the offender's next birthday.

Effective July 1, 2007 registered offenders shall report three times a year in person to the sheriff's office of every county where the offender must register. This shall occur during the month of their birthday and in every 4<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> month after any birthday. A registration fee of \$20 shall be charged for each time the offender reports to the sheriff's office.

Registered offenders must give written notice of any change of address within 10 days of a change in residence to the law enforcement agency where last registered as well as to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

The crime of failure to register is a severity level 5 person felony. A new violation or offense occurs every 30 days as long as the offender remains noncompliant with the Act.

Any person convicted of a crime outside of Kansas that would require registration in Kansas must register.

### HOW LONG MUST AN OFFENDER REGISTER?

- Adults are required to register for 10 years for a 1<sup>st</sup> conviction and lifetime for a 2<sup>nd</sup> conviction.
- Adults are required to register for lifetime for a 1<sup>st</sup> conviction of certain offenses.
- Juveniles are required to register for 5 years or until 18 years of age, whichever is greater, unless relieved by the court of the registration requirement.
- Any person convicted and required to register in another state is required to register for as long as that state would require or for the period of time required in the State of Kansas, which ever is longer.