
11/20/13 

ESTABLISHMENT APPLICATION INFORMATION 
Newly opened; complete change of ownership; change of location.  

Dear Applicant: 

This is the application, checklist, inspector work order, and affidavits needed to operate an establishment under 

the Board of Cosmetology regulatory authority within the state of Kansas. 

Please complete the application, inspector work order, and checklist and return it to this office via email 

attachment, fax, or mail. The establishment application must be submitted at least three (3) weeks prior to the 

anticipated date of opening. 

If there is an active establishment license at the location where you are making application and that establishment 

is closing, the Affidavit of Change of Establishment Ownership/New Applicant must be completed. The affidavit 

will need to be completed by the current/previous facility owner. If the previous establishment owner has already 

vacated the location, has not cancelled their establishment license, and is not available to complete the affidavit, 

the Affidavit of Change of Establishment Tenancy/New Applicant will need to be completed by the owner, 

landlord, or manager of the building. 

Remit the non-refundable fee (see application for fee schedule). Only checks, money orders or credit card 

payments made payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology will be accepted. No cash, please. 

When the completed application information and fee have been received by the office, a compliance inspection 

will be conducted as close to the anticipated date of opening as possible.  You will be contacted by the state 

inspector in order to schedule your initial compliance inspection. A compliance inspection will only be 

rescheduled if the inspector is contacted before noon of the preceding business day. 

Inspectors expect the facility to be set up and in working order when they come for the initial inspection to license 

your facility for opening. If, for any reason, the facility is not ready for inspection when the inspector arrives on 

the scheduled date of inspection or the inspection fails to demonstrate that all requirements set forth by the Board 

and the Kansas Department of Health and Environment have been met, the application will be denied. 

Your establishment license will be issued after the inspector verifies that your establishment has passed the 

compliance inspection. YOU MAY NOT OPERATE THE ESTABLISHMENT UNTIL IT HAS PASSED A 

COMPLIANCE INSPECTION. 

Please be informed that to practice any of the cosmetology professions in Kansas without a valid Kansas license is 

a violation of Kansas law and may subject you to legal action.  Similarly, an establishment which employs an 

unlicensed individual is in violation of Kansas law and may also be subject to legal action. 

Disclosure of your social security number or tax identification number is mandatory for licensure and authorized 

by K.S.A. 74-148. It is used by the Board to verify identity and license individuals lawfully residing in the United 

States. 

You must notify the Board office if you have not received your license within 30 days of the date of your 

compliance inspection. Failure to do so may result in a $25 duplicate license fee. 

ANY INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED AND NOT PROCESSED FOR 

LICENSURE 



APPLICATION FOR ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE 
(Please type all information, print form and submit to the Board) 

TYPE OF ESTABLISHMENT: 

Cosmetology ($50)  Tattoo ($50)      
Manicuring ($50)  Cosmetic Tattoo ($50)          
Electrology ($50)  Tattoo/Cosmetic Tattoo ($50)          
Esthetician ($50)  Body Piercing ($50)    

1. Establishment Name:________________________________________________

2. Address:__________________________________________________________

3. City:_____________________________________________ Zip: ____________

4. Email: _______________________________

Credit Card information: 

 American Express     Discover 
 Mastercard  Visa

Credit Card # 

Card Holder’s Signature 

Exp. Date of Credit Card (mo/yr)    Amount

Daytime Phone #  Card Holder's Zip Code

5. Establishment Phone #:(  ) ______-_______ Cell Phone #:(  ) ______-_______ Other Phone #(____) _____-_______ 
(Applicant must provide at least two (2) working numbers) 

6. TAX ID#:__________-______________ (if applicable)

7. Owner’s Name(s).  If you are licensed in a Cosmetology field, indicate your individual license number(s).  If not applicable, 
indicate by marking N/A.  Information listed on line #8 will be used for renewal purposes.

8. ________________________________________________ Lic.#:_______________ SSN#:________-______-________

9. ________________________________________________ Lic.#:_______________ SSN#:________-______-________

10. If applicant is not a licensed practitioner please provide the full name and license number of the practitioner providing 
services in the salon. Please note that the practitioner must be present at the compliance inspection. 

_____________________________________________________ Lic.#:______________

11. Has the owner(s) ever been convicted of a felony?     ____Yes       ____No 

ATTESTATION 
 I (We) understand that the compliance inspection will only be rescheduled if the inspector is contacted before noon of the 
preceding business day, and that if the facility is not ready at the time of the inspection or does not meet the requirements for licensure 
the application will be denied.  
 If granted a license to conduct the above business, I (We) will display the license in a location visible to the public.  I (We) will 
obey any and all requirements of Kansas statutes and all the applicable rules and regulations of the Kansas Board of Cosmetology  and 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment pertaining to this profession. 
 If any part of this application is found to be false or fraudulent, I (We) forfeit the right to operate the above named business in the 
state of Kansas. 

I (We) understand the facility license will expire on the date of expiration indicated on the license. The license may be renewed 
60 days prior to the expiration date by paying the appropriate renewal fee to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology 

Sign below and return with the appropriate nonrefundable fee to KBOC address listed above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided is true and correct. 

Signature of Owner (s) ____________________________________________________Date___________________     

_________              Signature of Owner (s) _____________________________________________________Date___________________  07172014 

Card Holder’s Printed Name



INSPECTOR WORK ORDER 
(PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION.) 

TYPE OF ESTABLISHMENT: 
Cosmetology   Electrology  Tattoo    
Manicuring   Esthetician   Cosmetic Tattoo  

Tattoo/Cosmetic Tattoo  Body Piercing  

Name of Establishment: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:  ______________________________________City:_____________________________ Zip: _______________ 

County: ___________________________Email Address: ____________________________________________________ 

Owner(s):___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name)                                                                   (Lic #)                                          (Exp)    

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name)                                                                    (Lic #)                                          (Exp)       

Licensed practitioner providing services if other than the owner (required if owner is not a licensed practitioner): 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

(Full Name)                                                     (License #)                                                               (License Expiration Date) 

Establishment Phone #:(____) ______-_______ Cell Phone #:(____) ______-_______ Other Phone #(____) _____-______ 
(Applicant must provide at least two (2) working numbers) 

Date facility ready for inspection:      ______/______/______        Opening Date:        _____/_____/_____ 
  (Must be 21 days from the date of submission of application) 

Days and Hours of Operation: ________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 

Location: In Home: _________ In Business area: _________ 

If the establishment is located within another business, please provide that business name: 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Example: If a tanning facility is located in a Cosmetology Salon) 

If this application is due to a change of ownership or a change of location, please provide the information below and 
have the previous owner complete the affidavit included with this application.  At t he time of inspec tion, the 
inspector will request the current license.  The license will be forwarded to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology office. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Previous Establishment Name)                                                                                                                               (License #) 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Previous Establishment Address)

Please provide detailed directions to your establishment: 

___________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________ 
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Inspector: ________________ 

Date Received:   _____/_____/_____ 

Fee Amount:  ________________ 

Date Inspected  _____/_____/_____ 

License Number: ________________ 



TATTOO, PERMANENT COSMETICS & BODY PIERCING ESTABLISHMENT CHECKLIST 
PLEASE CHECK OFF THE ITEMS IN THE LIST BELOW AND RETURN WITH THE INSPECTOR’S 
WORK ORDER, APPLICATION, AND APPROPRIATE FEE. (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION) 

Name of Facility: _________________________________________________________________ 

Address: ______________________________________ City: ________________ Zip: _________ 

Owner (s) Name: __________________________________________________________________ 

1. Personal license posted in public view?           

2. Facility and equipment are clean and in good repair?         

3. Surfaces in the work area made of smooth, non-porous material?     

4. A high-level disinfectant available for use?       

5. Facility free of animals other than registered therapy animals or fish aquariums?    

6. Sink other than the bathroom sink, with hot and cold running water?     

7. Bathroom with hot and cold water, soap dispenser, and paper towels or an air dryer?      

8. Sufficient lighting and ventilation?          

9. Solid partition separating the business from the residence or separating the facility from
another business which could be a threat to public health?   

10. Separate outside entrance?  

11. Clean and sanitized equipment, supplies, and chemicals, labeled and stored properly?  

12. All trash cans covered and sharps disposable containers available?  

13. Approved working sterilizer available with up to date spore test results or all single use items

available?  

14. Sterilization bags and color indicators or all single use items available?    

15. Adequate number of tubes and needles available?   

16. Pre-service information and after-care information available in writing?  

17. Client release forms available with all required information?  
(Board approved release forms available online at www.kansas.gov/kboc )

Refusal to permit or interference with an inspection by an authorized representative of the Kansas Board of 
Cosmetology during any time the facility is operating shall constitute cause for the Board to revoke, 

suspend, cancel or place the license on probation.
Send this with the application, inspector’s work order and the nonrefundable fee of $50. 

Do not forget to sign your application.  An inspection must be completed before you may open. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided is true and correct. 

 Signature of Owner (s) ____________________________________________________Date___________________

 Signature of Owner (s) ____________________________________________________Date___________________

 06022015



AFFIDAVIT OF CHANGE OF ESTABLISHMENT 
OWNERSHIP/NEW APPLICANT 

I, , the current owner of  
(Current Establishment Owner)      (Establish ment Name) 

acknowledge and am aware   is making application for an  
    (New Applicant/Owner) 

establishment license regarding .  
(Location – address, city, state and zip) 

Upon inspection of the above noted establishment/location for   , I  
(New Applicant/Owner)

am aware I will no longer be the licensee/owner for this location. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided
is true and correct. 

(Current Establishment Owner PRINT NAME) (Current Establishment Owner Signature) (Date)  
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AFFIDAVIT OF CHANGE OF ESTABLISHMENT TENANCY 
/ NEW APPLICANT 

I, ________________________________, the current owner, landlord or manager of  
(building owner/landlord/manager) 

___________________________________ acknowledge and am aware that  
(establishment name)

___________________________   is making application for an establishment license regarding 
 (new applicant / tenant)

 ________________________________________________.  
(location– address, city, state, zip) 

I hereby declare that ____________________________________ has been evicted from or has 
   (previous tenant) 

vacated the establishment, is no longer a tenant of this property and has no right to occupy the premises. 

 I declare under penalty of perjury undert the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided
is true and correct.

_______________________________ _______________________________ 
(PRINT NAME)   (SIGNATURE)                            (DATE) 

LGloeckner
Typewritten Text
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