

## Kansas Board of Cosmetology

Credit Card Payment \$50/\$75 (See Above)

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

## TATTOO - BODY PIERCING - COSMETIC TATTOO PRACTITIONER RENEWAL

Licenses will not be renewed sooner than six (6) weeks in advance. To renew your license, complete and return this application with the \$50 renewal fee (per license). Include documentation of 5 hours continuing education in Bloodborne pathogens and Infection Control; Return to the board office BEFORE THE EXPIRATION DATE on your license. You must notify the Board office if you have not received your license within 90 days of the date of your renewal or application submission. Failure to do so may result in a \$25 duplicate license fee. Only check, money order or credit card payment made payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology will be accepted. After expiration date of license, if expired less than 6 months, an additional \$25 delinquent fee is required. \$75 total for each license and a total of 8 hrs. CE. \*

A list of pre-approved Continuing Education for Body Art Practitioners can be found here: https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Pre-Approved Continuing Education for Body Art Practitioners.pdf

NAME:  ADDRESS:	<ol> <li>Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc</li> <li>Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar</li> <li>Transaction Item = Practitioner Renewal Fee</li> <li>Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below</li> <li>Order ID #</li> </ol>
EMAIL  PHONE  LICENSE EXPIRATION DATE:  LICENSE NUMBER:	Check or Money Order Payment \$50/\$75 (See Above)  1). Complete this form  2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology  3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided above.
LICENSE TYPE:  TATTOO  BODY PIERCING  COSMETIC TATTOO	(In accordance with Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A.) 65-1944 (a), provide the name and address of your current employment.) Please print.
Failure to answer the below felony question and sign the attestation will require the form be returned to you for completion.	
Have you been convicted of a felony since your last renewal? Yes No If	yes, you must provide your case number(s)
If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found on our website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1947, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in disciplinary action.	
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided above is true and correct.	
Date Signature of Applicant:	

Notice of Employment Change: All practitioners must promptly notify the Board in writing when their place of employment changes

<u>Trainer Renewal</u>: Should you be an approved trainer in Kansas your trainer's license will now be issued upon receipt of an apprentice application and expire at the same time as your apprentice's license.

Please note, should your practitioner's license expire during the timeframe that you are training an apprentice, your trainer's license and any training that might occur during this period would be null and void.

<u>Change of Address:</u> The Kansas Board of Cosmetology sends pre-notification mailers to remind individuals that their license will soon expire. To facilitate this effort and to ensure that you receive such a courtesy reminder, please keep this office informed of any change of home address.

Spore Testing: Each practitioner shall clean all non-electrical instruments prior to sterilization. All cleaned instruments shall be placed in sterile bags with color strip indicators and the instruments shall be sterilized in an approved FDA sterilizer.

A spore test must be performed every three months for tattoo, body piercing, and cosmetic tattoo facilities to assure that all microorganisms have been destroyed and proper sterilization has been achieved. The results of these tests must be available at the facility at all times for inspection by the board compliance officers. Please be informed should your facility fail to maintain quarterly spore test results nor have them available at the above named facility for review at each inspection, the Board has determined that disciplinary action may be taken against your facility. This disciplinary action may include a \$500 monetary fine for each violation.

Hand washing: All practitioners shall wash their hands and nails in hot soapy water and rinse in warm water before and after a service.

Practitioners must wear gloves at all times when providing a service.

The mission of the Kansas Board of Cosmetology is to protect the health and safety of the consuming public by licensing qualified individuals and enforcing standards of practice.