

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

Instructor Renewal

Cosmetology	Professions
Cosmetology	1 10163310113

Name:	License Number:			
Address:		*Exp. Date:		
Address:	Instructor License Type:		Cosmetology	
			Esthetics	
				Manicurist

*Renewals can be submitted no sooner than six weeks before the expiration date of the license. Renewals submitted prior to six weeks before the expiration date will be returned to the licensee and will not be retained by the Board office.

To renew your license, complete and return this form along with documentation of completion of the required continuing education hours and the \$50 nonrefundable renewal fee <u>PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION DATE</u> of your license. In order for your instructor license to be renewed by the Board, your practitioner license must also be active. Renewals postmarked after the expiration date will require an <u>additional</u> \$25 delinquent fee. No renewals will be accepted more than 30 days after the expiration of the license; the licensee will have to reapply and re-test

A list of pre-approved Continuing Education for cosmetology profession instructors can be found here: https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Pre-Approved_Continuing_Education_for_Cosmetology_Profession_Instructors.pdf

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

No CE is required for the 1st renewal period following initial licensure, this incudes reinstatement of licensure. Kansas law requires instructors to have 20 hours of **Board approved** continuing education (CE) in "the practice of cosmetology and teaching skills and methods" for instructor license renewal, as indicated below:

Teaching Skills and Methodology	10 hours
Practice of the Profession	*5 hours
Infection Control:	5 hours

*Any overages in the category of Teaching Skills and Methodology will be automatically applied to the category of Practice.

Online CE:

All required CE can be obtained online by using the list below of online approved continuing education. To receive credit for one of the approved courses you must submit the certificate provided by the course.

You may also submit CE information to the Board for review and approval that is not on the list. The submission must include your name, location of course, date of course, start time and end time, detailed course subject content (must be relevant to one of the required categories), presenter biography (short), and sign-in sheet or certificate of attendance. *Note: Sign-in sheet should have date, course title, location, and signature of presenter.

If the CE requirements are not met, the Board will be unable to renew your instructor license.

If you have CE's that you have not already submitted, please attach them with this renewal.

If you are unsure how many CE hours you have submitted to the Board, please email <u>kboc@ks.gov</u> to inquire.

FEE PAYMENT \$50 /\$75(late)

Credit Card Payment \$50 (\$75 if late)

1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

- 2). Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar
- 3). Transaction Item = Instructor Renewal Fee

4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below

Order ID # _

ATTESTATION

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided on this form is true and correct.

Signature (Type or Sign)

Email:

Check or Money Order Payment \$50 (\$75 if late)

2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of

3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided above.

Date

1). Complete this form

Cosmetology

Phone:

If you have questions about this form please e-mail <u>kboc@ks.gov</u>

11/16/2022