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Following is the application for a license to conduct a School of Nail Technology.  Please  
complete the application and return it with $150 fee to this office at least 60 days before the 
proposed date of operation. 

Please include with your application the following: 

1) A descriptive floor plan to scale which demonstrates compliance
With K.A.R. 69-3-3;

2) a copy of curriculum outline;

3) a daily class schedule for full time and part time students;

4) an inventory of all instructional equipment to be provided and used in the operation
of the school; and

5) a copy of the written enrollment agreement between the school and the student, including
the refund policy and the rules and regulations of the school.



APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO CONDUCT A SCHOOL OF NAIL TECHNOLOY 

(Please type all information, print form and submit to the Board) 

1. School Name:________________________________________________

2. Address:__________________________________________________________

3. City:_____________________________________________ Zip: ____________   

4. Email: _______________________________

5. School Phone #: (   ) ______-_______ 

Cell Phone #: (     ) ______-_______ Other Phone #: (____) _____-_______ 
(Applicant must provide at least two (2) working numbers) 

6. TAX ID#:__________-______________ (if applicable)

7. Owner’s Name(s).  If you are licensed in a Cosmetology field or as an instructor,
indicate your individual license number(s).  If not applicable, indicate by marking N/A.

8. ________________________________________________ Lic.#:_______________ SSN#:________-______-________

9. ________________________________________________ Lic.#:_______________ SSN#:________-______-________

10. If applicant is not a licensed instructor please provide the full name and license number of the instructor providing education
in the school. Please note that the instructor must be present at the compliance inspection.

_____________________________________________________ Lic.#:______________

11. Has the owner(s) ever been convicted of a felony?     ____Yes       ____No

ATTESTATION 

If I am granted a license to engage in the occupation of conducting a school of Nail Technology, I will not advertise by means of 
knowingly false or deceptive statements; that I will faithfully obey any and all requirements of law and all sanitary or other rules or 
regulations of the State Board of Cosmetology in conducting a School of Nail Technology in the state of Kansas.  

In submitting this application, it is agreed by (me or us) that if any part of it is found to be false, or fraudulent, (I or we) forfeit the 
right to conduct a School of Nail Technology in the state of Kansas. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided is true and correct. 

__________________________________________     __________ 
Signature of Applicant    Date 

__________________________________________     __________ 
Signature of Applicant   Date 
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Credit Card information: 

 American Express     Discover
 Mastercard  Visa 

Credit Card # 

Card Holder’s Signature 

Exp. Date of Credit Card (mo/yr)          Amount 

Card Holder's Zip Code
__________________

Daytime Phone # 

________________________________________     
Card Holder's Printed Name 



SCHOOL INSPECTOR WORK ORDER 
(PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION.) 

Name of School: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

Address:  ______________________________________City:_____________________________ Zip: _______________ 

County: ___________________________Email Address: ____________________________________________________ 

Owner(s):___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name)                                                                   (Lic #)                                          (Exp) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name)                                                                    (Lic #)                                          (Exp)       

Licensed instructor (s) providing education if other than the owner (required if owner is not a licensed instructor): 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

(Full Name)                                                     (License #)                                                               (License Expiration Date) 

School Phone #:(____) ______-_______ Cell Phone #:(____) ______-_______ Other Phone #(____) _____-______ 
 (Applicant must provide at least two (2) working numbers) 

Date school will ready for inspection:  ______/______/______ *Opening Date:        _____/_____/_____
(Must be 21 days from the date of submission of application).

*PROVIDING THE OPENING DATE DOES NOT GUARANTEE A COMPLIANCE INSPECTION ON THAT

DAY. THE INSPECTOR WILL CALL YOU TO SCHEDULE A COMPLIANCE INSPECTION. 

Days and Hours of Operation: ________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________ 

If this application is due to a change of ownership or a change of location, please provide the information below and 

have the previous owner complete the affidavit included with this application.  At the time of inspection, the 

inspector will request the current license.  The license will be forwarded to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology office. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Previous School Name)                                                                                                                               (License #) 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Previous School Address) 

Please provide detailed directions to your School: 

___________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________ 
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Inspector: ________________ 

Date Received:   _____/_____/_____ 

Fee Amount:  ________________ 

Date Inspected  _____/_____/_____ 

License Number: ________________ 
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I hereby certify and declare that the following equipment will be provided and available for inspection on the first day of school. 
(Please check) 

1. A minimum of 35 square feet of floor space per student present on the school premises,
but not less than a total of 1,500 square feet. K.A.R. 69-3-3 (b). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

2. At least 12 manicuring tables and chairs K.A.R. 69-3-3(d) (1). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

3. Hand washing sink in the clinic area. K.A.R. 69-3-3(d) (2). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

4. Lecture and demonstration room. K.A.R. 69-3-3(g) (1). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

5. Clinic practice area. K.A.R. 69-3-3(g) (2). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -  

6. Adequate library (K.A.R. 69-3-3(g) (3). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

7. Adequate storage area for student’s belongings. K.A.R. 69-3-3(g) (4). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

8. Reception area. K.A.R. 69-3-3 (g) (5). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

9. Two restrooms. K.A.R. 69-3-3- (g) (6) and K.A.R. 28-24-13 (2) (f). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -   

10. Two (2) hand washing sinks with hot and cold running water in the work area.
K.A.R. 28-24-5(c). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

11. Dispensary or supply room which includes a sink with hot and cold running water.
K.A.R. 69-3-3 (g) (7). - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I declare under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided is true and correct. 

______________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant   Date 

_______________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant  Date 



School Name:

School Address:

School Phone: School Fax:

School Hours of operation:

School Administrator:

Administrator's Phone:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

SCHOOL STAFF CONTACT INFORMATION

Please list below the contact information for your school.   

List the name of all staff, the position they hold (ie.Admissions, Financal Aid, 

List the school hours of operation and submit to the Board by email to kboc@ks.gov.



Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:



Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:

Position: Held By:

Phone: Email:



Use the following links to access the information and forms that provide the 
answers to the application competency questions.  

Statutes & Regulations 

Felonies 
Applicants only have to report felony convictions. They must report all felony 
convictions even if they did not occur in Kansas or they do not appear on a 
background check.  Applicants DO NOT have to report pending felony charges or 
convictions that have been expunged or pardoned.  Please review the documents 
below to become familiar with the felony reporting process.  

46. New Felony Process - School Guide
73. Felony Reporting Packet
Application for Licensure by Felon 

Field Study Requests 
The Board recognizes training may be enhanced by opportunities outside of the 
school environment. These opportunities may include but not be limited to 
demonstrations, trade show participation, participation in competitive activities (ex: 
Skills USA) and salon observations.  

To allow students participation in an activity outside of the school environment the 
school shall forward a request for hours to the Board. The granting of instructional 
hours for the field study must be approved by the Board. 
Please review the below related documents to learn about field study requests.    

Field Study Requests 
57. Field Study Request Form Pre or Post

The school will receive written notification of the approval or acceptance of a field 
study request.  

Infection Control Seminar Information 
The Infection control seminar is a class that is presented by a State Board 
Inspector.  The Inspector will review the infection control regulations and licensure 
law.   

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/CosmoStatsandRegs.htm
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/New%20Felony%20Process%20-%20School%20Guide.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Felony%20Packet%20-%20Instructions%20and%20Forms.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Felony%20Packet%20-%20Instructions%20and%20Forms.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Board%20Policy/Policy_Felony.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Board%20Policy/Policy_Field_Study.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Field-Study-Request-Form-Pre-or-Post-FILL.pdf


The school can request this seminar by completing and submitting form #28. 
Infection Control Seminar Request Form to the Board office. This form can be found 
on the Board’s website on the Forms & Applications page, under School Forms and 
Resources. 

Instructors can receive one hour of continuing education credit, per renewal period, 
for this class in the category of infection control.  To receive credit, they must sign in 
on the sign in sheet provided by the inspector and indicate that they are an 
instructor by marking the column labeled “instructor” with an X.  

Upon submission of the request form, the request is forwarded to the State 
Inspector for your area and the inspector will contact the school to schedule the 
seminar.  

Instructor Program Information 
To train an instructor the school must have an approved instructor program.  To 
have an instructor program approved, the school must submit and request approval 
for the program from the Board.   

The required curriculum can be found on the Board’s website under the SCHOOLS 
tab, under Board Approved Curriculum under INSTRUCTOR .

If a practitioner has at least one year work experience and has either two clients 
(patrons) or an employer that will attest to the practitioner providing services 
within the scope of the practitioner licensure for at least a year, by using form #60. 
Instructor Work Certification, available on our website, the practitioner would have 
to complete a minimum of 300 hours in an approved instructor program.  If the 
practitioner does not have at least one year work experience they would be required 
to complete a minimum of 450 hours.  

Instructor-in-Training Notice and Permit Application 
Before an instructor starts training, the Instructor-in-Training Permit Application 
must be received by the Board at least one week (7 days) prior to the start of 
training. 

At no time shall an instructor-in-training practice without the supervision of a 
licensed instructor.  

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Infection-Control-Seminar-Request-Form-FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Infection-Control-Seminar-Request-Form-FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/FormsandApps.htm
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Curriculum_Instructor.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-Work-Certification-for-Cosmetology-Professions-FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-Work-Certification-for-Cosmetology-Professions-FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-in-Training%20Permit%20Application%20Fill.pdf


The school must enroll instructor-in-training on the Ergometrics website when they 
start training and their hours must be submitted to the Board by the 10th day of 
each month. 

Instructor-in-Training Verification and Permit Issuance 
Once the instructor-in-training completes 100 hours of the teaching skills and 
methodology training the instructor must submit the Instructor-In-Training 
Verification Form and required permit fee to receive the instructor-in-training 
permit. 

The permit is issued from the start date of the enrollment and expires on the last 
day of the month, six months following that issuance.  

If the instructor-in-Training has not completed their training and passed the 
examination before the expiration date of the permit, the instructor-in-training 
must complete and submit a new Instructor-in-Training Permit Application and 
Training Verification Form to receive another instructor-in-training permit.  

An instructor-in-training may not supervise students and count towards the 
instructor to student ratio until the Permit is posted in the school. 

Only one instructor-in-training on the school staff, with a current posted instructor-
in-training permit, can be used for the purposes of the required student-to-
instructor ratio. 

Instructor-in-Training Examination 
The school should refer the instructor-in-training for testing and provide the 
examination information to the instructor-in-training.  

Instructor License 
The instructor-in-training, with the school, should complete form #61. New 
Instructor Application, found on the Board’s forms and applications page and 
submit the application to the Board with the required fee.  

Upon receipt of passing score on the Instructor exam and all required completed 
forms/applications, the applicant will be issued their instructor license which will 
expire two years from the last day of the month of issuance.  

https://www.cosmetologykansas.com/index.cfm
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-in-Training%20Verification%20Form%20FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor-in-Training%20Verification%20Form%20FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Application-for-Instructor-of-Cosmetology-Professions-FILL.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Application-for-Instructor-of-Cosmetology-Professions-FILL.pdf


The Instructor’s practitioner license must be kept current.   If the practitioner 
license becomes expired; the instructor license automatically becomes “null and 
void” and is no longer valid. 

Instructor Renewal 
A renewal will be sent in the mail to the last address given to the Board at least six 
(6) weeks before the expiration date.  The renewal will have the current continuing
education on file with the Board for the instructor renewing.  There is also form
#62. Instructor Renewal , available on the Board’s forms and application page.

The newly licensed instructor will not have to obtain continuing education for the 
first renewal period.  After the first renewal, the instructor will be required to 
obtain 20 hours of continuing education. The continuing education must be in the 
following categories: 

15 hours teaching skills and methodology and five (5) hours infection control. 
OR 
10 hours teaching skills and methodology, five (5) hours practice, and five (5) hours 
infection control. 

A list of Pre-Approved Continuing Education for Cosmetology Profession Instructors 
is available on our website under the COSMETOLOGY tab under Continuing 
Education for Instructors. It is also available on the resources page under the 
RESOURCES tab. This list is available for convenience and is not all 
inclusive.  Instructors are welcome to obtain continuing education outside of the list 
of pre-approved continuing education.   

All continuing education (CE) to be approved must meet the submission 
requirements outlined in the CE Submission Form and fall within the guidelines of 
the 65. Cosmetology Instructor Continuing Education Policy . 

There are forms #64. Instructor CE Sign In Sheet and #63. Instructor CE 
Submission Form available to you on the website under KBOC FORMS AND 
APPLICATIONS, under School Forms and Resources, under Instructor CE Sign in 
Sheet and Instructor CE submission form.  

CE submissions that are incomplete or are not relevant to one of the required 
categories will be denied and no credit will be given.   

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor_Blank_Renewal.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Pre-Approved_Continuing_Education_for_Cosmetology_Profession_Instructors.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor_CE_Form.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Board%20Policy/Policy_Cos_%20Inst_%20CE.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/CE_Sign_In_Sheet.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor_CE_Form.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Instructor_CE_Form.pdf


CE’s can be submitted to the Board anytime throughout the two year renewal 
period.  
Overages in CE will not be retained by the Board. Only CE pertinent to the renewal 
of the instructor license will be retained.  
Notice of Completion  
Notice Of Completions are no longer required but may be submitted with the 
apprentice licenses to notify the Board of Disenrolled Students as required by 
Kansas Administrative Regulations (K.A.R.) 69-3-7.  

The documentation of training is now reported on the Ergometrics website. 
However occasionally the Board will require that a Notice Of Completion be 
submitted.  

Some on the reasons a Notice of Completion may be requested are: 

 Th e r epor t in g of t r a in in g da t e is  in com plet e of in cor r ect  on  t h e licen su r e

application,
 Th e r epor t in g of t r a in in g h ou r s is  in com plet e of in cor r ect  on  t h e licen su r e

application, and;
 Discr epa n cies in the hours reported on the ergo website and hours reported for
training received prior to the conversion to Ergometrics.
 P er iodic file a u dit s .

Should a Notice of Completion be required the school will be notified by phone call 
or email. If the school is notified that a Notice of Completion is needed it should be 
submitted to the Board within 10 business days. 

54. Notice of Completion - Cosmetology
55. Notice of Completion - Esthetics
56. Notice of Completion - Nail Tech

Apprentice Applications 
Apprentice applications must be received by the Board office within 15 calendar 
days of the start date of training, if received in the office after 15 days from the 
start date, the application is considered late and will be sent to legal department for 
further actions.   

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Certificate-of-Completion-Cosmetology.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Certificate-of-Completion-Esthetic.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Certificate-of-Completion-Nail-Tech.pdf


All forms need to be fully completed, incomplete forms will be returned to school 
which may cause them to be considered late once corrected.  
The student’s information must be entered correctly. The licenses are printed from 
information provided on the apprentice applications. If an incorrect license is 
printed due to an error on the application, the student will be required to submit a 
new apprentice license application and fee; this may also cause the apprentice 
application to be considered late.  

The apprentice application can be accessed from the Board website 
(www.kansas.gov/kboc) using the KBOC FORMS AND APPLICATIONS link under 
School Forms and Resources.  44. Apprentice Application .  

The school should read the application cover letter and provide a copy to the 
student.  

The school must enroll apprentices in the Ergometrics website when training starts 
and must submit the hours monthly to the Board from the Ergometrcis website. 

If you are having problems navigating the Ergometrics website, please contact 
Ergometrics using their contact information listed on their website.  

A Nail Technology student must have 70 hours of training before working on the 
public. 
An Esthetics student must have 130 hours of training before working on the public. 
A Cosmetology student must have 320 hours of training before working on the 
public. 

LATE APPRENTICE APPLICATIONS 
Students are required to submit an apprentice application to the Board within 15 
days after their start date.  

Every year the Board receives numerous late applications. Incomplete applications 
often result in a late application because there is insufficient time to correct the 
application. 

When a late application is received, the start date for enrollment is adjusted to 15 
days prior to the date the complete application was received by the Board.  All 
hours earned prior to the adjusted start date are denied and must be recompleted 
by the student.  

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/application_for_cosmetology_apprentice.pdf


Filing Checklist 
□ Application is typed
□ Attach government issued photo identification
□ Payment - $15

Students paying for the application are advised to make sure they have
money in their account or to pay with a money order.

□ Felony Questions
Must be answered and the date of conviction must be listed
The Felony Conviction Disclosure Form, Felony Monitoring Form (if
applicable) and court documents must be submitted with the application

□ Student reviews the application for any errors before signing.

School Checklist 
□ If the school requires the student to file the application directly with the

Board, have the student provide a copy of the application to the school.

□ Maintain a list of all students with a column for the date the application was
sent to the Board and a column for the date the apprentice license was
received by the school.

□ Have each student check their apprentice license for accuracy and
immediately contact the Board if any information is incorrect.

To expedite the processing of a late apprentice license application, include the 
student’s daily attendance record and breakdown of all training hours completed 
with the application. 

Any request to waive the denial of hours must be made by the student to the 
Board.  Have the student include a statement regarding the reason the request 
should be granted. 

The practitioner license application must reflect the “adjusted start date” and any 
hours entered into Ergometrics should reflect all hours completed by the student 
(both the denied hours and the recompleted hours). 

The Board receives numerous applications for practitioner’s license in which the 
school fails to record the adjusted start date on the application and instead denotes 
the original start date resulting in licensing delays.  



Schools have also entered the hours in Ergometrics incorrectly to try to compensate 
for the student recompleting hours; Schools need to enter the exact hours earned by 
the student each month in the school portal.  Students who have re-completed hours 
should have more than 1500 hours in the system and it should be easy for the Board 
to review Ergometrics records and verify the hours were recompleted.  There is a 
common misconception that the hours entered in Ergometrics shouldn’t exceed 
1,500 which is incorrect.   

Please use the following link to access the Board policy on late apprentice 
applications. 

Late Application for Apprentice Licensure 

Ordering Law Books 
Each apprentice will receive one law book from the Board office with their license.  
If an additional law book is needed  the school or student may request one by using 
form # 27. Law Book Order Form 

High School Guidelines 
Kansas law requires that each applicant for Kansas Board of Cosmetology licensure 
be a high school graduate or have attained the “equivalent thereof.”   

Please review the Board’s High school guidelines found on the Board website. 
45. High School Guidelines

Click on Forms and Applications 

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Board%20Policy/Policy_Late_Apprentice_App.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Law_Book_Order_form.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/High%20School%20Guidelines.pdf


Then in the box titled School Forms and Resources you will find High School 
Guidelines 

High school transcripts: 
High school education documents are required for applicants to receive a license.  
These documents cannot be accepted from the applicant or from the school where 
the applicant received professional training.  

It is your student’s responsibility to contact the high school from which they 
graduated and have the school forward to the Board office a copy of their high 
school transcript which lists their date of graduation.  If they did not graduate from 
an accredited high school, they may meet this requirement by having a copy of their 
graduate equivalent diploma (GED) transcript submitted.  They will need to contact 
the testing facility or the State Board of Education from which they attained the 
GED and request a copy of the GED transcript be forwarded to the Kansas Board of 
Cosmetology.   

Education documents may be faxed to 785-296-3002, emailed to kboc@kboc.ks.gov 
or mailed to Kansas Board of Cosmetology 

 714 SW Jackson, Suite 100, Topeka KS 66603. 

Practitioner License Applications: 
Initial practitioner applications must be typed.   The application can be completed 
on the testing company website or on the Board website www.kansas.gov/kboc . 

mailto:kboc@kboc.ks.gov
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc


There are two ways to get to the application on the Board website.   
The first is to click on the Schools/Student/Applications/Practitioner Licensure 
Application. 

The second option is to Click on KBOC FORMS AND APPLICATIONS here. 

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/FormsandApps.htm.  

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/FormsandApps.htm


Under Cosmetology Forms. You’ll find the application here. 

The application fee for a practitioner license is $45.  The temporary permit fee is 
$15. 

It is important that in the area titled Instruction/Training the full dates of training 
be recorded. (Ex. mm/dd/yyyy or  month date, year.)    

Once the information has been typed into the application, the student will need to 
print, sign, and send the application to the Board at the address in the upper right 
hand corner of the application.  



The attestation states that the applicant has read the application and the 
information provided is true and correct.    

The school should read the entire application including the cover letter and the each 
Student should be directed to read the entire application and be aware of all items 
that need to be sent to the Board office and where those items need to be sent from 
to complete their application.  The student should be provided with a copy of the 
cover letter to the application.   Students who have incomplete applications often 
call and report “No one told me I needed……” The most frequent complaint is no 
one told them they had to have their high school documents sent to the Board by 
the high school.

The student should receive notice from the Board within 7-10 business days, from 
the receipt of their application, of the status of their application.  

If the application is incomplete the student will be sent a notification of exactly 
what is still needed to complete their application via email if provided or mail if not. 

When the application is complete The Ergometrics website will be checked to see if 
the student has scheduled exams and or begun testing.   

If the student has begun the testing process, it will be understood that the school 
has provided the student with their Username and Password as well as the Exam 
Preparation Guide or told them how to access the Exam Preparation Guide on the 
Ergometrics website, www.cosmetologykansas.com .  The student’s licensure 
application will be held on file until their exams scores are posted by Ergometrics. 

If the student has not begun the testing process, the Board will send the student 
notification, via email if provided or mail if not, that the application complies with 
Kansas Law. This notification will also direct them to contact the school to obtain a 
Username and Password and for directions for registering/scheduling their exams. 

http://www.cosmetologykansas.com/


If the applicant submitted a completed temporary permit application, the 
notification that their application is complete will be on the back of the permit.  The 
back of the temporary permit reads: 

Temporary Permits: 
The temporary permits are issued to expire 6 weeks out from the date of issue to 
allow adequate time for students to schedule and take the exams before the 
temporary permit expires.   

Although the scores for written are posted in the portals within 24 hours of the 
written exam the practical scores can take 5-6 business days to be posted.   

If the temporary permit expires before a practitioner license is received, the 
applicant cannot continue to practice on the expired temporary permit.  The 
applicant must wait until they have the active practitioner license posted to begin 
providing services to the public.   

The temporary permit becomes null and void immediately if the applicant fails any 
part of the exams regardless of the expiration date. Students must check their 
Ergometrics portal regularly.  If an inspector goes into a shop and an individual is 
working on a temporary permit the inspector will call the Board office to determine 
if the temporary permit is still valid, Board staff will check the Ergometrics website 
to see if scores have been posted.  If scores have been posted and that person failed 
any portion of the test the temporary permit will be taken and the individual will be 
in violation of the law.  The facility the applicant is working in will also be in 
violation.  The scores are made available to both the applicant and the Board at the 



same time.  Consequently if the Board staff can see the scores then the applicants 
can see them also.  

Only one temporary permit may be issued per applicant. Temporary permits cannot 
be extended.   For additional information regarding the temporary permit, please 
review the temporary permit application found on the web site. 

8. Temporary Permit Application

Exam Preparation Guides: 
Students are responsible for reading and understanding all of the testing 
information in the Exam Preparation Guide provided by the testing company 
Ergometrics.  It can be found on the Ergometrics website, 
www.cosmetologykansas.com.  

If the student has questions about the exam or exam scheduling they need to 
contact Ergometrics by phone at 866-563-3882 or by clicking on “Contact Support” 
in the bottom right corner of the screen. 

Address changes: 
It is the  student’s responsibility to keep the Board notified of any address changes 
they may have by completing the “Change of Name/Address Form” found on the 
Board website, www.kansas.gov/kboc .  

1. Change of Name/Address Form

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Application_for_Temporary_Permit.pdf
http://www.cosmetologykansas.com/
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/NameAddress_Change_Form_Practitioner.pdf


1,000 Hour Exam For Cosmetology Students Only: 
Kansas Statutes Annotated 65-1905(a) allows for a cosmetology student to take the 
written exam once they have completed 1,000 hours of training.  Taking the written 
exam at 1,000 hours is not manditory.  

If a student wishes to schedule and take the written exam at 1,000 hours.  The 
school will need to refer the student for testing on the Ergometrics website and 
provide the student with the student’s Username and Password.   

If the student does not pass the written exam prior to graduation they will still be 
eligible for a temporary permit upon graduation and submission of fully completed 
licensure and temporary permit applications.   

If after graduation and prior to obtaining a temporary permit the student fails the 
written exam and they have not yet taken the practical exam they may continue to 
retake the written exam.  If they retake and pass the written exam prior to taking 
the practical exam they will then be eligible for a temporary permit.  A temporary 
permit application and the $15 application fee will still be required prior to the 
issuance of a temporary permit. 

Issuing of Licenses: 
Scores are posted by Ergometrics on the Ergometrics website.  As soon as they are 
posted they are available for the Board and the student on the student’s portal.  The 
school will also be able to see if they passed or failed on the school portal.  Scores 
are valid for one year from the last day of the month of the exam.  For example if as 
student passed  a portion of an exam, written or practical on June 18th of 2013, they 
would have until June 30th of 2014 to pass the written or the practical score 
becomes null and void and they would have to retake the practical as well.  

Once the scores are posted, licenses are issued to those individual who have passed 
all three portions of the exam (written, practical and blood spill) and submitted a 
complete licensure application.  If any portion of the application is incomplete a 
notification will be sent via letter or email to the student informing them the 
Kansas Board of Cosmetology has been notified by the testing company, Ergometrics, 
of thier successful completion of the licensure exams. The notification will list the item 
still needed to complete their application with specific directions on how the item(s) 
are to be submitted.  Once the application is complete the license will be mailed to the 
applicant at the address on the application.   



The Board makes everyeffort to get the license in the mail with in 3 business days of 
the passing score being posted.  If your student does not have their license with in two 
weeks of there passing scores being posted they need to call or email the Board office 
to investigate why. 

7. Practitioner License Application
8. Temporary Permit Application

Transfer of Hours from another State of Kansas 
The student must request that the hours they obtained in the other state be sent 
directly to the KS school from the out of state school or the Board of that state.   

The school must review the hours and determine which of those hours will be 
requested for acceptance towards the KS cosmetology curriculum requirements for 
licensure.  

The school must complete and submit the Transfer of training form applicable to 
the license type to the Board office for approval with the training documents.  

The Board will provide written notification of the approval or denial of this request. 

47. Transfer of Hours Form - Cosmetology
47. Transfer of Hours Form - Esthetics
48. Transfer of Hours Form - Nail Tech
49. Transfer of Hours Form- Instructor

Board staff contact information is available on the Board website on the Contact Us 
page:  Contact Us 

http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/application_for_practitioner_licensure.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Application_for_Temporary_Permit.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Transfer-Hours-Cosmetology.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Transfer-Hours-Esthetics.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/Transfer-Hours-NT.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Forms/INST_TRANSFER_OF_HOURS.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/ContactUs.htm


School testing of competency of the applicant and assurance of compliance by the applicant 

SCHOOL- INFECTION CONTROL REGULATIONS 

K.S.A 65-1903 (B) The license shall be granted by the board upon proper and sufficient 
showing of competency of the applicant and assurance of compliance by the applicant with 
the requirements of this act, all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the board for 

the proper conduct of the school and all applicable sanitation standards adopted by the 
secretary of health and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148, and amendments thereto. 

Licensure K.S.A. 65-1906, K.A.R. 28-24-15, K.A.R. 69-3-9, K.A.R. 69-4-2, K.A.R. 69-6-5 

1. Does your facility license have to be current with the accurate location and owner’s names listed at all times?

Yes 

No 

2. What must be posted in a conspicuous place whereby it may be readily viewed by the consuming public?

(a) the facility license
(b) the health and sanitation regulations
(c) the latest inspection report and the consumer complaint sign
(d) all of the above

3. All instructors have to be currently licensed in Kansas and their license’s posted within easy view of the

consuming public? 

True 

False 

4. You can just make a copy of your instructor license and post the copy in the school.

True 

False 

5. Do you need to have your active practitioner license posted with your instructor license?

Yes 

No 

6. You can make a copy of your practitioner license and post the copy with your instructor license.

True 

False 

7. Do you need to have a sign visible in the clinic practice area stating “All services performed by students’?

Yes 

No 



8. All apprentice licenses must be posted in a conspicuous place. 

True 

False 
 

9. All of the apprentice licenses do not need to be current. 
True 

 
False 

 
 

Disinfectant Procedures for Instruments & Equipment K.A.R. 28-24-10, 28-24-11, 28-24-3, and 28-24-9 
 
 

10. Do all non-disinfected/soiled instruments/equipment need to be appropriately stored in a properly labeled, 
covered container? 

 
Yes 

No 

11. Instruments and equipment do not need to be cleansed with soap/detergent and water prior to disinfecting. 

True 

False 
 

12. Disinfected instruments need to be stored in a clean, labeled, enclosed cabinet or covered container reserved 
for instruments only. 

 
True 

False 

13. Do single-use supplies/instruments or those supplies/instruments that cannot be disinfected, need to be 
disposed of in a covered waste receptacle immediately after use on the client. 

 
Yes 

No 

14. Implements and equipment don’t need to be fully submerged in disinfectant. 

True 

False 
 

15. Disinfectant containers need to be covered and labeled. 

True 

False 



16. Do you need to have disinfectant that has been prepared within the last 24 hours available?

Yes 

No 

17. The disinfectant needs to be EPA-registered and hospital grade.

True 

False 

18. You cannot use bleach instead of an EPA-registered and hospital grade with demonstrated bactericidal, 

fungicidal, virucidal, and tuberculocidal activity. 

True 

False 

19. For instruments/equipment that may come in contact with blood of other body fluids, you should not have a 
Separate EPA registered, hospital grade disinfectant with demonstrated bactericial, fungicidal, virucidal, and 
tuberculocidal activity or a bleach mixture already prepared within the last 24 hours, you should prepare this mixture 
at the time of the instance of exposure.

True 

False 

20. The disinfectant solutions should have debris and dirt from disinfecting the implements and equipment.

True 

False 

21. Do you need to follow the manufacturer’s instructions in the use of the disinfectant(s)?

Yes 

No 

22. Can you have to have the containers in the original manufacturer-labeled container(s) OR the MSDS for the 
disinfectant(s) available in the school?

Yes

No 

23. You need to have unused vinyl or latex gloves available in the school for use by the student should there be 
exposure to blood or body fluids.

True 

False 



24. Do electrical instruments need to be cleansed by removing all foreign matter prior to disinfecting with an EPA- 
registered disinfectant? 

 
Yes 

No 

25. Disinfected electrical instruments do not need to be stored in clean, labeled covered containers. 

True 

False 
 

General Sanitation K.A.R. 28-24-2, 28-24-3, 28-24-4, 28-24-5, 28-24-6, 28-24-8 and 28-24-13 
 
 

26. Each student needs wash their hands with soap and water or use any equally effective cleaning solution 

before serving each client. 

True 

False 

27. Soiled towels, robes and/or linens only need to be deposited in a closed labeled (dirty/soiled) receptacle if they 
are visibly soiled. 

 
True 

False 

28. Do soiled towels, robes and/or linens need to be commercially laundered or non-commercially laundered by 

immersion in water of at least 140 degree Fahrenheit water for at least 15 minutes during the washing or rinsing 

operation. 

Yes 

No 

29. Clean towels, robes and/or linens do not need to be stored in closed labeled (clean) cabinets or containers, they 
are obviously clean so they can be folded and kept in the open. 

 
True 

False. 

30. Do the students need to use neck strips or a freshly laundered towels used to keep the protective covering from 

coming in contact with the client’s neck? 

Yes 

No 



31. The hand washing sink or shampoo bowl needs to be kept in a sanitary condition. 

True 

False 
 

32. Do you need to have sufficient hot and cold running water with a soap dispenser and disposable towels/air 
dryer? 

 
Yes 

No 

33. Do the client service tables need to be sanitized first then properly prepared or covered with the appropriate 

paper sheet or cloth for each client? 

Yes 

No 

34. You don’t need to worry about the students not dispensing the products correctly, it doesn’t matter if the product 

gets contaminated. 

True 

False 

35. The products need to be properly labeled and in clean closed containers. 

True 

False 
 

36. There only needs to be at least one restroom, of the two required, that is in working order and maintained in a 

sanitary condition. 

True 

False 

37. Do the hand washing sinks need to have soap dispensers, disposable towels/air dryer and sufficient hot and cold 

Running water? 

Yes 

No 

38. All bottles need to be labeled to disclose contents. 

True 

False 



39. All containers of poison or caustic substances only need to be stored in an area not open to the public if there are 
kids in the school. 

 
True 

False 

General Requirements K.A.R. 28-24-13, K.A.R. 28-24-14, K.A.R. 69-3-3, K.A.R. 69-3-4 
 
 

40. Can you have instruments, tools or devices that remove living layers of skin, calluses or skin blemishes in the 
school? 

 
Yes 

No 

41. You don’t need to make sure the floor stays free of excessive hair and debris. 

True 

False 
 

42. Some trash containers in the work area do not need to be covered. 

True 

False 
 

43. You need to make sure that excessive accumulation is removed. 

True 

False 
 

44. Do the walls, ceilings, floor coverings, equipment, workstations, including the back bar, and furniture need to be 
kept clean and in good repair? 

 
Yes 

No 

45. You need to have sufficient ventilation to remove or exhaust fumes, vapor or dust to prevent hazardous 
Conditions. 

 
True 

False 

46. Can you have neck/nail dusters, smoking, eating, and food preparation in the school? 

Yes 

No 



47. You can have animals that are not assistance animals in the school. 

True 

False 
 
 

The following are short answer questions. Please write N/A if the question is not applicable to your school 
license type. 
 
 

48. How many work stations do you need to have? 
 
 

49. How many shampoo bowls do you need to have? 
 
 

50. How many hair dryers do you need to have? 
 
 

51. How many facial chairs do you need to have? 
 
 

52. How many manicure tables (with chair) do you need to have? 
 
 

53. Do you need to keep a daily student record which verifies attendance and practice services completed? 
 
 

54. What is the minimum square foot requirement of floor space per student? 
 
 

55. What is the ratio of instructors to students? 



School testing of competency of the applicant and assurance of compliance by the applicant 

NAIL TECHNOLOGY SCHOOL 

K.S.A 65-1903 (B) The license shall be granted by the board upon proper and sufficient showing of 
competency of the applicant and assurance of compliance by the applicant with the requirements of this act, 
all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the board for the proper conduct of the school and all 
applicable sanitation standards adopted by the secretary of health and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65- 
1,148, and amendments thereto. 

 
 

Please type the answers to the following questions on a separate piece of paper. Handwritten answers will be 
considered incorrect. 

 
 

1. What types of convictions must be disclosed? 
 
 

2. Why does the student have to report their felony conviction? 
 
 

3. What does the student have to submit if they have a felony? 
 
 

4. What is the felony conviction disclosure form? 
 
 

5. What is the felony conviction monitoring form and in what case would your student submit it? 
 
 

6. How does the student obtain their court documents? 
 
 

7. What if the student’s conviction is in another state? 
 
 

8. What does the Board consider when determining whether to grant a license to a convicted felon? 
 
 

9. What happens after your student submits all of the required information regarding their felony? 
 
 

10. What is a field study request? 
 
 

11. How do you submit a field study request? 
 
 

12. How many days after an event has taken place can you submit a field study request? 
 
 

13. Can you submit a field study request before the event takes place? 
 
 

14. Does there have to be a supervising instructor for a field study request ? 



15. How many students can there be per instructor for a field study request? 
 
 

16. What do you need to submit with the field study request form? 
 
 

17. How many hours can a student get in one day for a field study request? 
 
 

18. What is an infection control seminar? 
 
 

19. How do you request an infection control seminar from the Board? 
 
 

20. Do instructors get continuing education credit for infection control seminars? If so, what category? 
 
 

21. Who will contact you to schedule the infection control seminar? 
 
 

22. How do you obtain an instructor program for your school? 
 
 

23. How many required hours must an instructor have to qualify for a license? 
 
 

24. Do you have to enroll instructors-in-training in Ergometrics as a student? 
 
 

25. When do you have to submit the Instructor-in-Training Permit Application? 
 
 

26. When do you have to submit the Instructor-in-Training Verification form? 
 
 

27. How many instructors in training can count towards the instructor/student ratio? 
 
 

28. What happens if an instructor lets their practitioner license expire? 
 
 

29. How many CE hours does an instructor have to have? 
 
 

30. Do you need to submit a notice of completion for every student? 
 
 

31. List 3 reasons why you would need to submit a notice of completion for one of your students: 

1). 

2). 
 
 

3). 



32. How do you know if you need to submit a notice of completion? 
 
 

33. How many days after the start date of training must the Board receive the apprentice application? 
 
 

34. What happens if you submit the apprentice applications for your students late? 
 
 

35. What happens if you or the student enters the incorrect information on the application for the student? 
 
 

36. Do your students have to have an apprentice license? 
 
 

37. How does your student obtain a law book? 
 
 

38. How does the school obtain law books? 
 
 

39. Can your student provide consumer services outside the school? 
 
 

40. How much is the apprentice application? 
 
 

41. What does the student need to send with the application? 
 
 

42. What do you do if the student has obtained some of their training outside of the United States? 
 
 

43. What do you do if the student has obtained their high school education outside of the United States? 
 
 

44. What company does the Board use to evaluate education from outside of the United States? 
 
 

45. Does your student have to have a Social Security number? 
 
 

46. How many hours does a Nail Technology student have to have to provide services to the public? 
 
 

47. How much does a law book cost? 
 
 

48. How often do you have to report your student hours to the Board? 
 
 

49. How do you access the Board’s guidance documents? 
 
 

50. What are the guidelines the Board uses in recognizing high school education from USD/Public Schools? 



51. What are the guidelines the Board uses in recognizing high school education from Online High Schools? 
 
 

52. What are the guidelines the Board uses in recognizing high school education from Home Schools? 
 
 

53. What are the guidelines the Board uses in recognizing high school education from outside the US? 
 
 

54. Is there an alternate form of education accepted? If so, what is it? 
 
 

55. How do you get a Practitioner Application for your student? 
 
 

56. How much is the Practitioner Application fee? 
 
 

57. What is the most frequent complaint that the person doing initial licensure receives from students? 
 
 

58. What happens if the application is incomplete? 
 
 

59. How many business days does the Board office ask that you and the student allow for processing? 
 
 

60. What company does the Board use for Board exams? 
 
 

61. How does your student get scheduled and pay for examination? 
 
 

62. If you have questions about examination who do you contact? 
 
 

63. If you have complications with your User ID or password who do you contact? 
 
 

64. If you made a mistake enrolling the student in the testing company website, who do you contact? 
 
 

65. How does your student get a temporary permit? 
 
 

66. How long is the temporary permit good for? 
 
 

67. What happens if your student fails the exam while using a temporary permit? 
 
 

68. How many temporary permits can your student have? 
 
 

69. Where do you find the test preparation guides? 



70. How does your student change their address with the Board? 
 
 

71. How much is a temporary permit? 
 
 

72. What do you do if you have a student that wishes to be credited hours obtained in another state? 
 
 

73. How do you know if the Board will recognize the hours from out of state? 
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