

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

Dear Applicant,

An individual who enrolls in a Kansas cosmetology, nail technology or esthetics school must obtain an apprentice license. Pursuant to K.S.A 65-1912, application for an apprentice license allowing a person to practice in a licensed school shall be submitted to the Board not more than 15 days after the person's enrollment in the school. Failure to do so may result in legal action and instructional hours may not be credited toward training.

The Board provides the law book in several electronic formats, please refer to the Law Book Resources document to find the one of preference. The school will post the license and inform the student about this resource pertaining to the laws and regulations that govern Kansas licensees and establishments. It is important to be knowledgeable of Kansas laws and regulations.

A licensed apprentice may only provide consumer services in the school in which they are enrolled. It is a violation of law for an apprentice to provide consumer services in any other location. Failure to comply with these rules and regulations subjects the apprentice to legal action which may include assessment of a civil fine and/or licensure restrictions. Any establishment that allows an apprentice or an unlicensed individual to provide consumer services is also subject to legal action as outlined in K.S.A 65-1909.

Complete the apprentice application online, print, and provide to the school in which you are enrolled. Include the following with this application in the order listed:

- 1. Non-refundable \$15 application fee
- 2. This fully completed form; and
- 3. Legible photocopy of your current U.S. government issued photo identification (i.e. drivers license, state or military identification card)
- 4. *Legible photocopy of your social security (SS) card

PLEASE NOTE: The name on the application and the identification documents must match exactly.

If you completed any professional training outside of the United States it must be verified and evaluated for training equivalence. The verification must include information regarding the duration of training, the number of instructional hours, and the subject matter of the training. Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not guarantee acceptance. You can find lists of accredited educational credential service providers here:

https://www.naces.org/ https://aice-eval.org/

High School Education is required for initial licensure. You must be a graduate of an accredited high school, have a general education diploma (GED), or a foreign diploma that has been verified by an educational credential evaluator.

It is your responsibility to contact the high school, testing facility or the State Board of Education from which you attained your GED or diploma and have them fax, email, or mail a copy of your transcript to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology. The Board will accept verification of HS or GED completion from services obtained by the issuing party for sending education documents digitally such as Parchment, GED Diploma Sender, etc.

If you completed high school outside of the U.S., your high school transcript must be verified and evaluated for educational equivalency. Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not guarantee acceptance. You can find lists of accredited education credential service providers here:

https://www.naces.org/
https://aice-eval.org/

Should your high school verification or any other documents be submitted with a name other than the name listed on your licensure application. It is necessary for you to submit a copy of the court document that changed your name. This document may be mailed to the address below or faxed to 785-296-3002.

Pursuant to federal law, a person who is not a U.S. citizen is not eligible for licensure unless the person is a qualified alien or a non immigrant. You must be either a U.S. Citizen, permanent resident/resident alien, non-immigrant with a visa and be able to provide the visa type (not all visa types are eligible), or a non-immigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States.

*Social Security number disclosure is mandatory for licensure and authorized by KSA 74-148 and 74-139. It is used to verify identity and license individuals lawfully residing in the U.S. Upon request of the director of taxation, each such authority shall provide to the director of taxation a listing of all such applicants, along with such applicant's social security number and address. Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers (ITIN) cannot be accepted in lieu of a social security number.

Sincerely,

Kansas Board of Cosmetology



Kansas Board of Cosmetology

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002

Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

APPLICATION FOR APPRENTICE LICENSURE

COSMETOLOGY, ESTHETICS, NAIL TECHNOLOGY

Applicant Information (Please include a legible photo copy of your Valid U.S. Government Issued Photo ID and Social Security Card)						
Full Legal Name:, .					Female	
Address:		First	Middle			
Street			City/State		Zip	
Phone: ()	Date of Birth:	(mm/dd/yy)	*Social Security Number: Disclosure is mandatory for licensure and authorized	d by K.S.A. 74-148 and K.S.A. 74-139.	It is used to verify identity and	
Applicant Email Address: license individuals lawfully residing in the U.S. Upon request of the director of taxation, each such authority shall provide the director of taxation a listing of all such applicants, along with such applicant's social security number and address.					such authority shall provide to	
Previously used name(s) that might appear on supporting documentation: If you have had a legal name change, please include a copy of the legal documents verifying the change of name (marriage license, divorce decree, US government issued ID, etc.).						
Fee Payment \$15	he KBOC payment portal can be accessed by nav	rigating to the Board website www.ka	nsas.gov/kboc and selecting the PAYMENT PORTAL	L tab from the Top Menu Bar		
Credit Card Payment \$15			Check or Money Order Payment\$15 1). Complete this form and print it			
So to Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc Select PAYMENT PORTAL from the Top Menu Bar Select Transaction Item: Apprentice License Fee			2). Make check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology			
3). Select Transaction Item: Apprentice License Fee 4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt here					ued above.	
Enrollment Information						
TRAINING PROGRAM:	Cosmetology:	Nail Technology:	Esthetics:	Electrology:		
	oosilictology.	Mail reciliology.		Licotrology.	· · · ·	
Name of school in which you are enrolled: City :						
Start date for this enrollment period: Full time Part time						
(mm/dd/yy) Additional training or extension of training (Should it be recessory that an apprentian or edditional apprentian license beyond the expiration date of the initial apprentian license, it is necessary this per						
(Should it be necessary that an apprentice attain an additional apprentice license beyond the expiration date of the initial apprentice license, it is necessary this section be completed and submitted with the nonrefundable \$15 fee. This additional apprentice license will be sent to the school you are attending. K.A.R. 69-4-12)						
Have you previously attained training in any of the above listed professions? Yes No If Yes, Please complete the portion below:						
School Name: School City :						
Dates of attendance at this school: From:To:Hours earned:						
Provide the first date for this enrollment period for this additional/extension of training: Current apprentice license number:						
Has the school in which you are currently enrolling requested the training hours from the school(s) you previously attended? YesNo(If you attended another school in addition to the one listed above, attach the information on a separate sheet of paper with this application. Pursuant to K.A.R. 69-3-26, "within 30 days after enrollment of a transfer student, a school shall obtain verification of the students prior course of training including subjects, the number of hours, and practice services completed by the student.)						
Felony Conviction and Disciplinary Actions						
Have you been convicted of a felony? Yes No If yes, you must provide your case number(s):						
If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found on our website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in disciplinary action.						
Have you had a license certificate or permit revoked, suspended or limited, or had other disciplinary action taken by the State of Kansas or any other state against any professional or occupational license, certificate or permit held by you; or has an application for any professional or occupational license, certificate or permit						
been denied by the State of Kansas or proper regulatory authority of another state, territory, District of Columbia or another country? Yes No						
If yes, you must submit for #82 Disciplinary Action Disclosure Form, which can be found on our website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A 65-1908, failure to disclose all disciplinary actions may result in disciplinary action.						
Attestation						
(Please include a legible photo copy of your U.S. Government Issued Photo ID and Social Security Card)						
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that I have read and understand the application, and that the information provided is true and correct.						
Signature Required:			Date:			
The Kansas Board of Cosmetology will not process an incomplete or illegible application. The Board will return the application to you, thus delaying your licensure as an apprentice.						
Office Use Only: No Exp						