TANNING NEWS

Kansas Board of Cosmetology Quarterly Newsletter October 2016

Notice of Public Hearing on Proposed Administrative Regulations

A public hearing will be conducted by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology at 1:30 p.m. on October 25, 2016 in the
Board Conference Room, 714 S.W. Jackson, Suite 100, Topeka, Kansas, to consider a new regulation. The Notice of
Hearing and copies of the proposed regulation may be found on the Board’s website at www.kansas.gov/kboc.

This 60-day notice of the public hearing shall constitute a public comment period for the purpose of receiving written
comments from the public on the proposed regulations. All interested parties may submit written public comments on
the proposed regulations prior to the hearing to Board of Cosmetology, c/o Aubrie Pryer, Compliance Supervisor, 714
S.W. Jackson, Suite 100, Topeka, Kansas 66603 or by email to aubrie.pryer@ks.gov.

All interested parties will be given a reasonable opportunity to present their views, either orally or in writing or both,
concerning the adoption of the proposed permanent regulations. In order to give all parties an opportunity to present
their views, it may be necessary to request that each participant limit any oral presentation to five minutes.

Any individual with a disability may request accommodation in order to participate in the public hearing and may
request the proposed regulations and economic impact statements in an accessible format. Requests for
accommodation to participate in the hearing should be made at least five working days in advance of the hearing by
contacting Aubrie Pryer at (785) 296-4414 or the Kansas Relay Center at 1-800-766-3777. Handicapped parking is
located directly outside the building and the entrance to the building is accessible. These regulations are proposed for
adoption on a permanent basis. A summary of the proposed regulations and the economic impacts follows:

K.A.R. 69-12-18 — Access to Tanning Devices. This is a new regulation and would carry out the provisions of
2016 HB 2456 (L. 2016, ch. 91, New Section 1) which requires tanning facility operators to prohibit minors’ access to
tanning devices.
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Proposed Administrative

Regulations
The Board will hold a public hearing on October 25, 2016

at 1:30 p.m. to discuss a new regulation regarding minors
access to tanning devices.

HB 2456, which prohibits minors from tanning, was signed
by the Governor on May 13, 2016. The law took effect on
July 1, 2016. The Board is required to adopt regulations to
carry out the prohibition against minors tanning.

The bill states the following:

New Section 1.

(a) No tanning facility shall provide access to a
tanning device for any person under 18
years of age.

(b) In addition to the board’s authority to
impose discipline pursuant to K.S.A. 65-
1920, and amendments thereto, the board
shall have the authority to assess a fine not
in excess of $250 against a licensee for each
violation. Such fine may be assessed in lieu
of or in addition to such discipline.

(¢) The board shall adopt rules and regulations
as necessary to effectuate the provisions of
this section. Such rules and regulations
shall be adopted no later than January 1,
2017.

New Section. 2.

K.S.A. 65-1920 through 65-1929 and section 1,
and amendments thereto, shall be known and
may be cited as the Kansas tanning facilities act.

Proposed Regulation
The Board has proposed that facility operators verify the

age of consumers by viewing their government issued
photo identification.

69-12-18. Access to tanning devices. Each tanning
facility operator shall verify that each consumer accessing
any tanning device in the tanning facility is at least 18
years of age. Verification shall be obtained by viewing a
government-issued driver's license or other photo
identification that includes the consumer’s date of birth.

Fines
Once a regulation is finalized, the Board will consider the

fine amount for allowing a minor to use a tanning device.

Comments
You may attend the public hearing at the Board office on

October 25, 2016 at 1:30 p.m.

If you do not want to attend the hearing or you are unable
to attend, submit your written comments regarding the
proposed regulation to the Board. If you would like to
email your comment, please send your email to
aubrie.pryer@ks.gov. Written comments must be received
by October 25, 2016.
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Federal Regulations

There are two federal regulations that were previously
discussed in the Board’s January and July Newsletters that
have been in the final rulemaking process since June.

One of the federal regulations also prohibits minors from
tanning. To view the regulations and their status, please
visit the Federal Food and Drug Administrations website at:

Restricted, Sale, Distribution, and Use of Sunlamp
Products
https://www.regulations.gov/docket?D=FDA-2015-N-1765

Sunlamp Performance Standards
https://www.regulations.gov/docket?D=FDA-1998-N-0880

Any final rule would take effect 90 days after its date of
publication in the Federal Register.

Establishment Applications

The Board has updated the establishment license
application in an effort to simplify the application process
and to make the form easier to understand. A certificate of
training is no longer required to be submitted with the
application. The new form also includes a compliance
inspection checklist.

The form is used for new establishments, an establishment
changing locations, or an establishment completely
changing ownership. To add or remove one or more
owners, you should still use the Change of Ownership
Form. If you are paying by credit card, you will also need to
complete the Credit Card Authorization Form.

Renewal Postcards

In July, the Board ceased mailing renewal forms and began
sending postcards to licensees reminding them to renew
their license. Renewal postcards are sent at least 30 days
prior to the expiration date of your license. You may renew
your license online or if you want to complete a paper
renewal form, you may download the form from our website.

License Numbers

If you have recently received a renewal postcard or license,
you may have noticed a three digit prefix in front of your
license number. In the July Newsletter, the Board
announced that prefix numbers would be used as the result
of the Board moving to a new version of its licensing
database.

Both the prefix and license number are required to renew a
license online. A list of prefixes can be found in the online
renewal portal and on our website.

Establishment Online Renewals

The Board is pleased to announce that a registration code
is no longer needed to renew your license online.
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Mobile Inspections

In July, the Board announced that it would soon be conduct-
ing mobile inspections. Mobile inspections are performed with
tablets instead of paper forms. The inspection results are
emailed to the owner and must be printed and posted in the
establishment.

In August, the Board launched a pilot program in Region 2
where all inspections are now being conducted on the mobile
platform. The Board is continuing to refine the mobile inspec-
tion program and plans to conduct mobile inspections in all
regions by the end of the year.

Staff News

In August, the Board welcomed a new inspector to the
agency. Janet Durheim will inspect establishments located in
Region 3.

Janet Durheim - Inspector Region 3

My legal background is extensive as | worked for the Kansas
Department of Health & Environment for the past 11 years
and previously served as a legal assistant in a law firm for
five years. | am very excited for the opportunity to utilize my
legal skills and knowledge of regulations and statutes to
ensure the safety and health of consumers. | look forward to
serving you.

Inspector Opening

The Board currently has an opening for an inspector in
Region 4. The Region 4 inspector conducts inspections in
Johnson and Wyandotte Counties. To view the position
description and to apply, please visit:
https://www.da.ks.gov/ps/pub/jobpostings.asp

Sr. Administrative Assistant - Legal
The Board currently has an opening in the Board office for a
Senior Administrative Assistant in the Enforcement Division.
To view the position description and to apply, please visit:
https://www.da.ks.gov/ps/pub/jobpostings.asp

2016 Board Meeting Schedule

October 10 - Teleconference
November 14 - Board Office
December 12 - Teleconference
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Contact Us

714 S.W. Jackson, Ste. 100

Topeka, Kansas 66603

Phone: (785) 296-3155
Fax: (785)296-3002

Email: kboc@ks.gov

Find us on:
fa::ebook@

Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

Staff Contacts

Direct Line Telephone Numbers and Email Addresses
can be found on our website at www.kansas.gov/kboc
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Ava Fiene
Wendy Flowers
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Brian Tice

Executive Director

Personnel Services, Budget,
IT, Website

Accounts Receivable/
Payable

File Management

Facility Paper Renewals,
Schools, Instructors,
Continuing Education,
Open Records Requests

Initial Practitioner Licensure,
Examinations, Temporary
Permits, Body Art Licensure,
Out-of-State Licensure,

Facility Licensure, All Online
Renewals, Practitioner
Renewals, Duplicate
Licenses
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Board Verifications
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Inspector - Region 1
Inspector - Region 2
Inspector - Region 3
Inspector - Region 4
Inspector - Region 5
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