Bypass Titles | Bypass Titles and Index

Display empty space for layoutKREC logo

HOME | FAQs | FORMS | NEWS

Display empty space for layout License Search | Company Search | Check CEU hrs | Renew License

Loading

Education

KREC

Commission

Licensure

Regulation

Guidelines & Helpful Information

News
KREC
< State of Kansas Web site

Salesperson Pre-License

A 30-hour course titled "Principles of Real Estate" is required before taking the license exam. The course must be approved by the Commission. It is available by classroom or distance education.

The school will provide information on making a reservation for the licensure exam. Upon completion of the course, the school will issue a certificate which must be shown to the test center manager. Both parts of the license exam must be passed within 12 months of the course completion date. The application for license must be received by the Commission within six months of the date the exam is passed. If parts of the exam are passed on different dates, the six-month limit applies to the earliest date.

If a salesperson applicant is eligible for licensure through requirements met in another jurisdiction, the pre-license course is not required.

Directory of Approved Pre-License Course Providers

Kansas Practice Course

A 30-hour course titled, "Kansas Practice Course" is required prior to applying for a Kansas salesperson's license. The course must be approved by the Commission. It is available by classroom or distance education.

The course is required for all Kansas residents and for all nonresidents and may be completed either before or after the licensure exam. Upon completion of the course, the school will issue a certificate of completion which must be filed with the license application. The Commission must receive the license application and course certificate within six months of the course completion date.

Directory of Approved Pre-License Course Providers

Broker Pre-License

A 24-hour course titled "Broker's Pre-License Course" is required before taking the license exam. The course must be approved by the Commission. No continuing education credit is given for this course. It is available by classroom or home-study method.

The school will provide information on making a reservation for the licensure exam. Upon completion of the course, the school will issue a certificate which must be shown to the test center manager. Both parts of the license exam must be passed within 12 months of the course completion date. The application for license must be received by the Commission within six months of the date the exam is passed. If parts of the exam are passed on different dates, the six-month limit applies to the earliest date.

If a broker applicant is eligible for licensure through requirements met in another jurisdiction, the pre-license course is not required. However, a 4-hour Kansas Law Course is required instead.

Directory of Approved Pre-License Course Providers

Kansas Law Course

A 4-hour course titled, "Kansas Law Course" is required for broker applicants eligible for licensure through requirements met in another state. (Kansas residents completing the 24-hour Broker Pre-License Course are not required to complete the 4-hour Kansas Law Course.) The course may be completed before or after the Kansas portion of the licensure exam. The course must be approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission. Upon completion of the course, the school will issue a certificate of completion which must be filed with the license application. The Commission must receive the license application and course certificate within 6 months of the course completion date. Fingerprints for a KBI/FBI criminal background check must also be submitted to the Commission.

Directory of Approved Pre-License Course Providers

Request for Reasonable Accommodations

Persons with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations by contacting the Commission at:

Kelly White
Education Specialist
Kansas Real Estate Commission
Three Townsite Plaza, Suite 200
120 SE 6th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 296-3411
Kansas Relay Center 1-800-766-3777
Fax (785) 296-1771
e-mail: kelly.white@krec.ks.gov

Individual Request for Real Estate Education Credit

If a licensee is aware of a real estate related course that does not appear on the Commission's current list of approved continuing education courses, the licensee may request approval of the course towards elective hours for a fee of $10.00 (nonrefundable, non-transferable).

Licensees should be sure there is sufficient time before the Kansas license renewal date (see Staggered Renewal Schedule) to take another course in the event the course submitted is not approved by the Commission.

If the course was completed online, a copy of the final exam score reflecting the course was passed with 90% or better is required.

To request credit for individual hours of continuing education from a school not approved by KREC, complete the Education Individual Request Form (RE-800).

School/Course/Instructor Approval

Instructions for Schools to Request Commission Approval of a Course

Per K.S.A. 58-3046a(h), approved courses must be offered by one of the following:

  1. an institution which is accredited by the north central association of college and secondary schools accrediting agency;
  2. an area vocational or vocational-technical school as defined by K.S.A. 72-4412 and amendments thereto;
  3. a private or out-of-state postsecondary education institution which has been issued a certificate of approval pursuant to the Kansas private and out-of-state postsecondary education institution act;
  4. any agency of the state of Kansas; or
  5. a similar institution, approved by the Commission, in another state.

To obtain approval as a private or out-of-state postsecondary school as described in #3 above, contact Jacqueline Johnson, Director of Private Post-Secondary Education, at the Kansas Board of Regents, 1000 SW Jackson, Ste 520, Topeka KS 66612, (785) 296-4917, jjohnson@ksbor.org Fax: (785) 296-4526.

If you do not meet the requirements listed above, you may act as a co-sponsor under an eligible school by submitting the Education Co-Sponsor Request Form (RE-830).

The following forms are required to submit a request and can be found under the "Forms" link at the top of the page:

  • Education In-Person Course Registration Form (RE-810)
  • Education Distance Course Registration Form (RE-820)
  • Education Instructor Approval Form (RE-850)
  • Education Instructor Resume Form (RE-860)

If your course is approved, we will contact you for the $50 course approval fee or you may submit the fee with your request. Courses are approved for the remainder of the calendar year. A $15 fee is required to renew a course for the next calendar year.

Material for the following courses must be updated when notified by the Commission:

  1. Mandatory "Core" Courses;
  2. "Kansas Practice Course";
  3. "Kansas Law Course";
  4. "Broker's Pre-License Course"; and
  5. "Principles of Real Estate".

Schools must notify the Commission, in writing, at least 15 days prior to any significant changes in the following:

  • coordinator;
  • instructor;
  • school name or address;
  • course outline;
  • dates and times the course is offered;
  • course site; and/or
  • fees charged to students.

To notify the Commission of these changes, use the Education Course Update Form (RE-840).

The school coordinator and instructor(s) should review and become particularly familiar with K.S.A. 58-3046a of the Kansas Real Estate Brokers' and Salespersons' License Act and the following regulations: K.A.R. 86-1-10 through 86-1-13, 86-1-16 and 86-1-17.

If you have any questions, please call Kelly White at (785) 296-2099 or e-mail kelly.white@krec.ks.gov.

Course Approval Policy
Continuing Education Elective Hours - July 13, 2006

Courses designated as elective hours shall contribute to the maintenance and improvement of the quality of real estate services provided by the real estate licensee to the public.

The following topics may be approved if the focus of the course is to benefit the licensee's client or customer:

Negotiation process
Computer software training
Tax law
Office and business skills

Courses on the NAR Code of Ethics may be approved.

The following topics shall not be considered by the Commission to meet the objectives of continuing education:

Typing, speedwriting, memory improvement, report writing, personal motivation, salesmanship, sales psychology and time management.

Courses will not be approved that advertise a particular product or service that is offered by a particular company or individual or that provides a direct or indirect benefit to the course provider, the instructor or his/her heirs or assigns. The commission may approve courses that provide a list of products or services if the list includes a sufficient number of products or services offered by competitors and would provide informative material relative to the course being offered.

 

Mandatory Course Topics

K.A.R. 86-1-11 provides the following topics for mandatory course approval.

"Required Salesperson and Broker Core" - brokerage relationships and misrepresentation.

"Required Broker Core" - one or more of the following topics

  • Procedures manuals;
  • Trust accounts;
  • Management, including all facets of supervising a real estate company;
  • Common violations of the real estate brokers' and salespersons' license act and the brokerage relationships in real estate transactions act;
  • Commercial sales and leasing issues; or
  • Farm and ranch issues.

Course Outlines

Principles of Real Estate Outline
Kansas Practice Course Outline
Broker Pre-License Course Outline
Kansas Law Course Outline

Who to Contact

Kelly White - Course Approval - 785-296-2099


[Home] [Apply for a License] [Renew] [License Lookup] [Check CEU Hours] [SiteMap]


Copyright © 2002, Kansas Real Estate Commission
Three Townsite Plaza STE 200  -  120 SE 6th Ave  -  Topeka, Kansas  66603-3511
phone: 785.296.3411 - fax: 785.296.1771 - email: krec@krec.state.ks.us

| Security Statement | Privacy Statement | Accessibility Policy |