Bypass Titles | Bypass Titles and Index

Display empty space for layoutKREC logo

HOME | FAQs | FORMS | NEWS

Display empty space for layout License Search | Company Search | Check CEU hrs | Renew License

Loading

Applying for a License

KREC

Commission

Licensure

Regulation

Guidelines & Helpful Information

News
KREC
< State of Kansas Web site

Checklist for Getting a License

  • Be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Interview with area real estate firms
  • Complete the appropriate Kansas salesperson or broker pre-license course or hold a current license in another state which was obtained by completing a pre-license course equivalent to Kansas' requirement.
  • Nonresidents must hold a current real estate license in their resident state equivalent to the level for which they are applying in Kansas and submit the Nonresident Form (REL-110).
  • Submit the Fingerprint Instructions and Waiver Form (REL-150), along with a cashiers check or money order for the correct amount made payable to KREC for a KBI/FBI background check (fingerprint packets are available at most Kansas schools, Kansas exam centers, or by emailing brooke.daniels@krec.ks.gov)
  • If applying for a salesperson's license, complete a 30-hour Kansas Practice Course
  • If applying for a broker's license based on requirements met in another state, completed a 4-hour Kansas Law Course
  • Make reservation for the appropriate licensure examination (Candidates applying based on requirements met in another state may request a waiver from the national portion of the exam)
  • Pass the examination and receive licensure application
  • Complete the license application and obtain supervising broker's signature
  • Mail the license application, education certificate(s), and appropriate fees to the Commission
  • Receive pocket card from supervising broker


Supporting Documentation Required

Submit the following with the license application, where applicable:

1. License History Certification for any real estate license ever held by you in any other state or jurisdiction.

2. Supporting documentation concerning any of the following:

  • denial, revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender of license or any other disciplinary action taken against any professional or occupational license or certificate ever held by you;
  • real estate related litigation filed against you or a real estate company owned in whole or part by you;
  • any pending criminal charges filed against you or any conviction of a criminal offense (including misdemeanors) and a letter from your proposed supervising broker stating they're aware of the charges and willing to supervise you. Required documentation includes a copy of the ticket/complaint, the judgment and sentencing order, proof of release from any probation or parole, a letter from the applicant explaining the offense, and a letter from the supervising/branch broker indicating they have reviewed the pertinent court records and are willing to supervise the applicant;
  • any diversion or suspended imposition of sentence for a criminal offense (including misdemeanors). Required documentation includes a copy of the ticket/complaint, the diversion agreement or order of suspended imposition of sentence, proof of completion of the diversion or suspended impostion of sentence, a letter from the applicant explaining the offense, and a letter from the supervising/branch broker indicating they have reviewed the pertinent court records and are willing to supervise the applicant; and
  • if you are not a U.S. citizen, documentation that permits you to obtain employment in the United States

If you are reporting disciplinary action, charges, or convictions, the Commission recommends submission of the following:

  • Letters of recommendation or character references
  • Certificates of completion for any treatment, therapy, victim panel, or group program
  • Relevant scholastic, community, volunteer or work experience
  • A statement regarding your character, the nature and extent of any rehabilitation, or extenuating or mitigating circumstances concerning illegal activities or conduct
  • Order, petitions, complaints, settlement agreements, judgments, permits, or other court documents relevant to any offense

If you have questions about what constitutes a minor traffic offense, please click on this link to view a list.

< top

Requirements for Getting a License

Please be sure you understand the requirements before taking the pre-license education and licensing examination. If you have any questions, please contact the Commission office at (785) 296-3411.

Applicants must have a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity and competence to transact the business of salesperson or broker in such manner as to safeguard the public interest.

Salesperson Applicants
(not currently licensed in another state)

Checklist of requirements

  • NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas. Nonresidents should therefore skip to the instructions under the heading for obtaining a license based on having met equivalent requirements in another state
  • 18 or more years of age
  • high school diploma or its equivalent
  • 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission
  • Fingerprint Instructions and Waiver Form (REL-150), along with a cashiers check or money order for the correct amount made payable to KREC for a KBI/FBI background check (fingerprint packets are available at most Kansas schools, Kansas exam centers, or by emailing brooke.daniels@krec.ks.gov).
  • 30-hour Kansas Practice course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (file certificate of completion with license application to KREC within six months of course completion date)
  • pass both parts (general and state) of the Kansas licensing exam within 12 months of the completion date of the Principles of Real Estate course
  • file an application for license within six months of the exam pass date (if the two parts of the exam were passed on different dates, the six-month time period begins from the earlier exam date)
  • license application signed by a supervising or branch broker who certifies that the applicant is honest, trustworthy and of good reputation and who will be responsible for supervising the applicant's real estate activities (an original license cannot be issued on inactive status)
  • file a Nonresident Form (REL-110) with the license application, if applicable. NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas
  • file a current certification of license from any jurisdictions that have ever issued a real estate license to you with the license application

Broker Applicants
(not currently licensed in another state)

Checklist of requirements

  • NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas. Nonresidents should therefore skip to the instructions under the heading for obtaining a license based on having met equivalent requirements in another state
  • 18 or more years of age
  • high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Fingerprint Instructions and Waiver Form (REL-150), along with a cashiers check or money order for the correct amount made payable to KREC for a KBI/FBI background check (fingerprint packets are available at most Kansas schools, Kansas exam centers, or by emailing brooke.daniels@krec.ks.gov).
  • 24-hour Broker Pre-License course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission
  • pass both parts (general and state) of the Kansas licensing examination within 12 months of the course completion date
  • file an application for license within six months of the exam pass date (if the two parts of the exam were passed on different dates, the six-month time period begins from the earlier examination date)
  • license application signed by a supervising or branch broker if the applicant is not applying as a supervising broker
  • If the applicant is applying to be the supervising or branch broker of a new office, complete the Open Company Form and the appropriate Trust Account Form.
  • Review broker points system and instructions for experience section. Include the experience section with the application completed in detail and attach resume, position description, or letter of recommendation if requested
  • file a Nonresident Form (REL-110) with the license application, if applicable. NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas
  • file a current certification of license from any jurisdictions that have ever issued a real estate license to you with the license application

Experience Requirement for Broker's License

  • licensed as a salesperson in Kansas, or as a salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction, and ACTIVELY ENGAGED in activities which require a license in Kansas for at least two years during the last five years. NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas.
  • experience in the real estate or a related business or a combination of such experience and education may be accepted if the Commission believes it qualifies the applicant to act as a broker.
  • The Broker Point System is provided for informational purposes and is the guideline the Commission uses as an aide in the determination of whether an applicant for a broker's license meets the active experience requirement. The expected benchmark for an applicant is a total of 20 or more points. Experience will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis, and points are awarded solely at the Commission's discretion.
  • Instructions for completing the Broker Experience Section of the application should be carefully reviewed.
  • The Broker Experience Section should be completed in detail and if requested, a resume, position description and letter of recommendation from your supervising broker should be attached.

    < top

Licensure by Requirements Met in Another State

NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas

Salesperson Applicants:

Checklist of requirements

Effective 3/8/07, all reciprocity agreements were cancelled. This means all license applicants must pass the Kansas portion of the licensure exam for salespersons.

Download the Candidate Handbook at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/ for information on scheduling a licensure exam. The handbook should be read thoroughly to understand the examination procedures.

Applicants who hold a current salesperson's license in another jurisdiction do not have to complete Kansas' 30-hour pre-license course and the national portion of the examination IF the applicant has completed a course and examination for a jurisdiction the Commission has determined to have equivalent requirements.

The following items are required to apply:

  • Fingerprint Instructions and Waiver Form (REL-150), along with a cashiers check or money order for the correct amount made payable to KREC for a KBI/FBI background check (fingerprint packets are available at most Kansas schools, Kansas exam centers, or by emailing brooke.daniels@krec.ks.gov).
  • 30-hour Kansas Practice course approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (file certificate of completion with license application to KREC within six months of course completion date)
  • Passing score report for the Kansas portion of the licensure exam filed with the Commission within six months of the date the exam was passed
  • Application for License signed by a supervising or branch broker who holds a Kansas broker's license. (The application is provided at the exam center upon passing the Kansas portion of the exam.)
  • file a Nonresident Form (REL-110) with the license application, if applicable. NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas.
  • current certification of license from any jurisdictions that have issued a real estate license to you (For jurisdiction contact information go to www.arello.com)
  • $15 nonrefundable application fee and a prorated license fee. (Fees may be combined into one check payable to "K.R.E.C.")

    A new salesperson is issued a license that expires according to a staggered renewal schedule based on the first letter of the applicant's last name. Twelve hours of continuing education will be required by the first renewal due date. However, if the license expires less than six months from issuance, the 12 hours are not required until the second renewal date. License numbers for licensees in this category will begin with the letters "SA".


Broker Applicants:

NOTE to Nonresidents: You must hold a current real estate license in your resident state equivalent to the level for which you are applying in Kansas

Checklist of requirements

Effective 3/8/07, all reciprocity agreements were cancelled. This means all license applicants must pass the Kansas portion of the licensure exam for brokers.

Download a Candidate Handbook at www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/ for information on scheduling a licensure exam. The handbook should be read thoroughly to understand the examination procedures.

Applicants who hold a current broker's license in another jurisdiction do not have to complete Kansas' 24-hour broker pre-license course and the national portion of the exam IF the applicant has completed a broker pre-license course and exam for a jurisdiction the Commission has determined to have equivalent requirements.

Applicants must also demonstrate they meet the experience requirement for a Kansas license as follows:

  • Licensed as a salesperson in Kansas, or as a salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction, and ACTIVELY ENGAGED in activities which require a license in Kansas for at least two years during the last five years
  • Experience in the real estate or a related business or a combination of such experience and education may be accepted by the Commission as being equivalent to all or part of the experience as a licensed salesperson or broker if the Commission believes it qualifies the applicant to act as a broker.
  • The Broker Point System is provided for informational purposes and is the guideline the Commission uses as an aide in the determination of whether an applicant for a broker's license meets the active experience requirement. The expected benchmark for an applicant is a total of 20 or more points. Experience will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis, and points are awarded solely at the Commission's discretion.
  • Instructions for completing the Broker Experience Section of the application should be carefully reviewed.
  • The Broker Experience Section should be completed in detail and if requested, a resume, position description and letter of recommendation from your supervising broker should be attached.

If the applicant is not applying as a supervising or branch broker, the applicant must be affiliated with a supervising or branch broker who has a Kansas broker's license.

The following items are required to apply:

  • Fingerprint Instructions and Waiver Form (REL-150), along with a cashiers check or money order for the correct amount made payable to KREC for a KBI/FBI background check (fingerprint packets are available at most Kansas schools, Kansas exam centers, or by emailing brooke.daniels@krec.ks.gov).
  • 4-hour Kansas law course (file certificate of completion with license application to KREC within six months of course completion date)
  • Passing score report for the Kansas portion of the broker's licensure exam filed with the Commission within six months of the date the exam was passed.
  • Application for Broker's License provided at exam center upon passing the exam
  • file a Nonresident Form (REL-110) with the license application, if applicable
  • current certification of license from any other jurisdictions that you are currently licensed in or have been in the past (For contact information for other jurisdictions go to www.arello.com) Certification must be filed with the license application no later than six months from the issue date shown on the certification
  • $15 nonrefundable application fee and prorated license fee
  • If opening a new company or branch office, complete the Open Company Form and the appropriate Trust Account Form.

Note to applicants using Missouri Requirements: Applicants must request their pre-license education and exam information be included on the certification of license issued by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. If the Missouri license was obtained without completion of a pre-license course, the applicant must take the Missouri broker pre-license course or the Kansas 24-hour broker pre-license course, and include a copy of the certificate of completion with the application for license.

To request certification of a Missouri license, go to the web site for the Missouri Real Estate Commission, http://www.pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp. Click on Application Forms, and then print the Request for Certification of Licensure. Complete Part II and III of the form and send it to the Missouri Real Estate Commission with the $10 fee. DO NOT ALTER THE CERTIFICATION BY MARKING BOXES, ETC. AFTER IT IS ISSUED! Doing so is considered a serious issue that will require your application to be referred to the Commission for consideration.

< top

Reasons for Possible Denial or Restriction

Denial:

In determining whether to grant a license the Commission considers:

(1) If an applicant has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been convicted of any offense that is comparable to any crime that would require the applicant to register as provided in the Kansas Offender Registration Act, K.S.A. 22-4902 (Link to list of crimes), regardless of the jurisdiction in which the crime occurred, the applicant must wait 15 years from the date of release from probation or post-release supervision before they are eligible for consideration for licensure. After the 15-year waiting period ends, the applicant has the burden of proof to demonstrate to the Commission that the applicant now has a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact the business of real estate in a manner to safeguard the public interest.

(2) If the applicant has entered a plea of guilty to or nolo contendere to, or has been convicted of any other felony, regardless of the jurisdiction in which the crime occurred, the applicant must wait 5 years from the date of release from probation or post-release supervision before they are eligible for consideration for licensure. After the 5-year waiting period ends, the applicant has the burden of proof to demonstrate to the Commission that the applicant now has a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact the business of real estate in a manner to safeguard the public interest.

(3) any revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender, or other disciplinary action taken against a real estate license.

(4) Whether an applicant has violated the Kansas Real Estate Brokers' and Salespersons' License Act, the Kansas Brokerage Relationships in Real Estate Transactions Act, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder during the term of any prior license.

(5) Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, or any conviction of any misdemeanor which reflects on the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, or competence to transact the business of real estate.

(6) Any conduct of the applicant which reflects on the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, or competence to transact the business of real estate.

(7) Such other matters as the Commission deems pertinent.

In its consideration of any such prior revocation or conduct the Commission shall take into account the nature of the offense; any aggravating or extenuating circumstances; the time elapsed since such revocation or conduct; the rehabilitation or restitution performed by the applicant; and such other factors as the Commission deems relevant.

The Commission may deny a license to any person who, without a license, has engaged in a real estate activity for which a license was required.

When an applicant has made a false statement of material fact on the application, such false statement may be sufficient reason for refusal of a license.

Hearing for Denial of License

If an application is denied, a notice is sent to the applicant, giving the reason for denial. The applicant is given an opportunity to be heard at a hearing in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act. A hearing is not held if the sole reason for denial is because the applicant failed to pass the required license examination.

Restricted License:

An original license may be issued as restricted if, after a hearing, it is found that an applicant who has met the exam and experience requirement has not met all other applicable requirements.

A license may be restricted:

  • by term
  • to employment by or association with a particular broker as an independent contractor
  • to a particular type of transaction
  • by other conditions deemed advisable by the Commission, including the filing of a surety bond

Renewal of a restricted license is at the discretion of the Commission.

< top


[Home] [Apply for a License] [Renew] [License Lookup] [Check CEU Hours] [SiteMap]


Copyright © 2002, Kansas Real Estate Commission
Three Townsite Plaza STE 200  -  120 SE 6th Ave  -  Topeka, Kansas  66603-3511
phone: 785.296.3411 - fax: 785.296.1771 - email: krec@krec.state.ks.us

| Security Statement | Privacy Statement | Accessibility Policy |