Bypass Titles | Bypass Titles and Index

Display empty space for layoutKREC logo

HOME | FAQs | FORMS | NEWS

Display empty space for layout License Search | Company Search | Check CEU hrs | Renew License

Loading

58-3046a
Chapter 58.--PERSONAL AND REAL PROPERTY
PART 6.--MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
Article 30.--REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND SALESPERSONS

KREC

Commission

Licensure

Regulation

Guidelines & Helpful Information

News
KREC
< State of Kansas Web site

58-3046a. Licensure; educational requirements.

  1. Except as provided in K.S.A. 58-3040, and amendments thereto, any person who applies for an original license in this state as a salesperson shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of a principles of real estate course, of not less than 30 hours of instruction, approved by the commission and received within the 12 months immediately preceding the filing of application for salesperson's license. The commission may require the evidence to be furnished to the commission with the original application for license or it may require the applicant to furnish the evidence to the testing service designated by the commission as a prerequisite to taking the examination required by K.S.A. 58-3039 and amendments thereto. If the evidence is furnished to the testing service, the instruction shall have been received within 12 months immediately preceding the date of the examination.
  2. Except as provided in K.S.A. 58-3040, and amendments thereto, any person who applies for an original license in this state as a broker shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of 24 hours of instruction, approved by the commission and received within the 12 months immediately preceding the filing of application for broker's license. Such hours shall be in addition to any hours of instruction used to meet the requirements of subsection (c), (d), (e) or (f). The commission may require the evidence to be furnished to the commission with the original application for license, or it may require the applicant to furnish the evidence to the testing service designated by the commission as a prerequisite to taking the examination provided in K.S.A. 58-3039, and amendments thereto. If the evidence is furnished to the testing service, the instruction shall have been received within 12 months immediately preceding the date of the examination.
  3. Any person who applies for an original license in this state as a salesperson on or after July 1,2007, shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of a Kansas real estate practice course, of not less than 30 hours of instruction, approved by the commission and received within the six months immediately preceding the filing of the application for licensure.
  4. Any person who applies for an original license in this state as a broker on or after July 1, 2007, who is a nonresident of Kansas or who is a resident of Kansas applying for licensure pursuant to subsection (e) of K.S.A. 58-3040, and amendments thereto, shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of a Kansas real estate course, of not less than four hours of instruction and received within the six months immediately preceding the filing of the application for licensure. Such course shall be approved by the commission and shall be specific to Kansas law with primary emphasis on issues that arise under the brokerage relationships in real estate transactions act, K.S.A. 58-30,101 et seq., and amendments thereto, and rules or regulations adopted thereunder.
  5. At or prior to each renewal date established by the commission, any person who is licensed in this state as a broker or as a salesperson shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of not less than 12 hours of additional instruction approved by the commission and received during the renewal period.
  6. Any person who obtains a temporary license in this state as a salesperson prior to July 1, 2007, shall submit evidence, satisfactory to the commission, of attendance of courses of instruction approved by the commission as follows:
    1. No later than ten days prior to the expiration date of the temporary license, 30 hours of instruction received after the date of licensure.
    2. At or prior to the first renewal of a license issued pursuant to K.S.A. 58-3039, and amendments thereto, 12 hours of additional instruction received during the renewal period. Such evidence shall not be required until the second license renewal if the license expires less than six months after issuance.
    3. At or prior to each license renewal thereafter, 12 hours of additional instruction received during the renewal period.
  7. Any person who qualifies for original licensure as a salesperson pursuant to K.S.A. 58-3039, and amendments thereto, on or after July 1, 2007, shall not be required to comply with subsection (e) until the second license renewal period if the license expires less than six months after it is issued.
  8. Except for courses reviewed pursuant to subsection (k), courses of instruction required by this section shall be courses approved by the commission and offered by:
    1. An institution which is accredited by the north central association of colleges and secondary schools accrediting agency;
    2. an area vocational or vocational-technical school as defined by K.S.A. 72-4412, and amendments thereto;
    3. a private or out-of-state postsecondary educational institution which has been issued a certificate of approval pursuant to the Kansas private and out-of-state postsecondary educational institution act;
    4. any agency of the state of Kansas; or
    5. a similar institution, approved by the commission, in another state.
  9. The commission shall adopt rules and regulations to: (1) Prescribe minimum curricula and standards for all courses offered to fulfill education requirements of this act, (2) designate a course of study to fulfill any specific requirement, which may include a testing requiring, (3) prescribe minimum qualifications for instructors of approved courses and (4) establish standards and procedures for approval of courses and instructors, monitoring courses, advertising, registration and maintenance of records of courses, and withdrawal of approval of courses and instructors.
  10. The commission may approve distance education courses consisting solely or primarily of instruction provided online or in other computer- assisted formats, or by correspondence, audiotape, videotape or other media. For the purposes of this section, attendance of one hour of instruction shall mean 50 minutes of classroom instruction or the equivalent thereof in distance education study as determined by the commission.
  11. Courses of instruction required by this section shall be courses approved by the commission either before or after their completion. The commission may give credit toward the 12 hours of additional instruction required by subsection (e) or (f) to any licensee who submits an application for course review obtained from the commission and pays the fee prescribed by K.S.A. 58-3063, and amendments thereto, if, in the judgment of the commission, the course meets the objectives of continuing education.
  12. The commission shall publish annually a list of educational institutions and entities and the courses offered by them in this state which are approved by the commission.
  13. No license shall be issued or renewed unless the applicable requirements set forth in this section are met within the time prescribed.

(L. 1982, ch. 231, § 1; L. 1985, ch. 188, § 3; L. 1986, ch. 209, § 8; L. 1991, ch. 163, § 2; L. 1993, ch. 241, § 4; L. 1995, ch. 149, § 4; L. 1997, ch. 65, § 10; L. 2006, ch. 66, § 1; L. 2007, ch. 88, § 6; L. 2009, ch. 7, § 2; July 1.)


[Home] [Apply for a License] [Renew] [License Lookup] [Check CEU Hours] [SiteMap]


Copyright © 2002, Kansas Real Estate Commission
Three Townsite Plaza STE 200  -  120 SE 6th Ave  -  Topeka, Kansas  66603-3511
phone: 785.296.3411 - fax: 785.296.1771 - email: krec@krec.state.ks.us

| Security Statement | Privacy Statement | Accessibility Policy |