|Kansas.gov | State Phone Directory | Online Services|
How do I register a name?
Who needs to reserve a name?
When is a name reservation NOT required?
How long can I reserve a name for?
What if a "Bank" wants to use Bank, Banc, Banking, Bankers or Trust as part of its corporate title?
The state of Kansas does not have name registration. We have name reservation in which you can reserve a name online, if available, for 120 days and a fee of $30 (non refundable). The name that is reserved by you cannot be used by anyone else to incorporate unless you elect not to incorporate under that name within the specified 120 day reservation period.
Name reservation is not required by Secretary of State, it is just a means for you to be able to reserve a particular name or multiple names, so that name will be available when you are ready to complete your Business Entity.
A name reservation is NOT required to form a new business. It is intended ONLY for those who intend to file articles of formation as a corporation or limited entity, but require additional time.
You can reserve a name for up to 120 days.
The Bank would first need to obtain permission from the Kansas Bank Commission. For more information, contact the Kansas Bank Commission at (785) 296-2266 during the hours of 8:00-4:30 Monday - Friday.