The KSBEMS certificate Renewal application gives EMS attendants and Instructor Coordinators the opportunity to renew certification online. The accepted methods of payment are electronic check or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express). This online service is provided by Kansas.gov, a third-party working in partnership with the state of Kansas. The online price of items purchased through Kansas.gov, the state's official Web portal, includes funds used to develop, maintain, enhance, and expand the service offerings of the state's portal.
You can renew everything except Training Officer certification at this website. You will need your certification number which is on your current card and renewal application and a credit card or check for payment.
*All FR's, EMT's, EMT-I's, EMT-D's and EMT-I/D's must complete a Board approved Transition Course to renew certification after 12/31/2011. MICT will be issued a new Paramedic card without a transition course.
All attendants must obtain Board or CECBEMS approved continuing education during the 2 years immediately preceding the date of expiration of certification. For hours not Board approved you may apply for retroactive approval within 90 days of the course.
|EMR||16 clock hours|
|EMT||28 clock hours|
|EMT - Intermediate / EMT - Defibrillator||36 clock hours|
|EMT - I/D / AEMT||44 clock hours|
|Paramedic||60 clock hours|
Should an attendant not complete the continuing education requirements for renewal, the guidelines addressed in K.A.R. 109-15-1 shall be applied for the attendant to regain certification. K.A.R. 109-5-2 states that all attendant's shall maintain records of attendance at continuing education offerings for a minimum of 3 years.
Upon successful completion of the online renewal process, you will receive a confirmation screen. If you do not receive a confirmation screen, your online renewal is not complete. Call 1-800-452-6727 (accessKansas) or e-mail KSBEMS at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance. Certification cards will be sent as soon as possible.
Renewal applicants that did not complete the required continuing education prior to renewing certification, will be referred to the Attorney General's Office for revocation of their certification.
Intentional misrepresentation of information provided during renewal of certification may be grounds for disciplinary action that could lead to suspension or revocation of certification. Suspension or revocation of certification shall be reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank.
Who CANNOT Renew Online
DO NOT proceed if:
- It is more than 30 days past your renewal date.
- You have not met continuing education requirements.
- You have been convicted of a felony
If any of the above applies to your case, please proceed with normal paper process.
If you are an EMT or First Responder, you will first need to transition in order to renew online.
The Kansas.gov Purchase Price for certification renewals are as follows:
|Attendant Type||Kansas.gov online renewal fee on or before Dec. 31||Kansas.gov online renewal fee from Jan. 1 – Jan. 31|
|EMT - Intermediate||$32.75||$63.50|
|EMT - Defibrillator||$32.75||$63.50|
|EMT - I/D||$32.75||$63.50|