Frequently Asked Questions
|KREC Home > CEU Verification > Frequently Asked Questions|
Frequently Asked Questions
There is one exception. A new salesperson whose license expires less than six months from the issue date is not required to complete the 12 hours for the first renewal of the license. Licensees in this category will have the letters “SA” at the beginning of their license number.
Salespersons and brokers must complete at least 3 mandatory hours in the course entitled, “Required Salesperson and Broker Core”.
In addition to the “Required Salesperson and Broker Core” course, brokers must complete an additional course entitled, “Required Broker Core” for at least 3 mandatory hours.
Any course approved by the commission for elective hours. Courses designated as “elective” may be found on the list of approved courses with the letter “E” at the beginning of the course code.
Continuing education hours and renewal of the license are due one month prior to the license expiration date. Expiration dates are staggered over a two-year period and are based on the first letter of the licensee’s last name. Courses must be completed within the current renewal period.
No. Continuing education hours must be completed within the renewal period for which they are due.
Contact an approved continuing education provider for information on schedules, locations and course fees.
Yes. The directory of approved courses reflects those that are offered by distance education. These courses require either a proctored, closed-book final exam with a passing score of 70% or a non-proctored, open-book final exam with a 90% passing score.
Nonresidents must take the same commission-approved course(s) for mandatory hours. However, nonresidents may receive credit for elective hours for courses approved by their state of residence if:
Maybe for elective hours, but not for Kansas mandatory hours.
A few providers in the Kansas City area have submitted the course and received approval because the course compares Kansas and Missouri law. The provider, in these cases, will submit to the Kansas Real Estate Commission a roster of course attendees and elective credit will be entered on your record from the roster.
If the course is completed with a provider that has NOT registered the course with the Kansas Real Estate Commission, it may still be possible to receive elective credit.
If you are a Missouri resident, email or fax a copy of the course completion certificate - Fax (785) 296-1771. Please include your Kansas license number on the certificate or cover page to ensure proper credit. Credit will be given as elective hours, not mandatory hours.
If you are a Kansas resident, complete an Individual Request form and submit a copy of the course outline, a copy of the certificate of completion and a $10.00 fee. We will review the content of the course and let you know whether it qualifies for credit. If approved, credit will be given as elective hours, not mandatory hours.
Possibly. Submit an Individual Request form with the requested documentation and $10 fee. Be sure there is sufficient time (before your renewal due date) to take another course in the event the course submitted is not approved by the commission.
No. You must pay the renewal fee by the renewal due date, but the hours are not required until you are ready to reinstate the license to active status.
In addition to the 12 hours required for the last renewal, “penalty” hours are required at the rate of 6 hours for each full year on inactive status in order to reinstate your license to active status.
If the license has been inactive for 5 years or more, the licensure examination must be passed in addition to completion of the “penalty” hours.
No, not likely. Only courses approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission will qualify to renew your real estate license. A few courses that focus on appraisal topics have been approved for elective hours to renew a real estate license. However, K.A.R. 86-1-11 limits a licensee to a maximum of three hours credit during any renewal period for courses the commission designates as real estate appraisal courses. Designated appraisal courses may be found on the list of approved courses with the letter “A” at the beginning of the course code.