SOD Mission

The Special Operations Division of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation is dedicated to enhancing public safety in Kansas by providing professional investigative, tactical and technical services to the criminal justice community.

The Special Operations Division (SOD) is comprised of three regions: Northeast, Southeast and West. An Assistant Director and three Special Agents-in-Charge manage the division. Special agents assigned to SOD are responsible for proactive investigations of major narcotics producers and traffickers within the state. Investigations are either initiated through the Bureau or in support of other law enforcement agencies. Some special agents are assigned to federal and state drug enforcement task forces. State task forces managed by the KBI are the Southeast Kansas Drug Enforcement Task Force (SEKDETF), located in Pittsburg, and the Topeka Regional Drug Enforcement Task Force, located in Topeka. Federal task forces include the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (BATFE). The SOD also coordinates the Midwest High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) program activities within the state and acts as the fiscal agent.

The SOD is responsible for coordination of the KBI's asset forfeiture program and the joint DEA sponsored federal/state Domestic Cannabis Eradication/Suppression Program (DCE/SP).

The SOD utilizes the KBI's High Risk Warrant Team (HRWT), Technical Services Group (TSG) and Clandestine Laboratory Response Team (CLRT) in its operations.

The SOD also manages the KBI’s Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU).